Template - Date: Ladbrokes Masters

Peter Wright claimed glory in his first tournament as World Champion, winning the 2020 Ladbrokes Masters in dramatic fashion against Michael Smith in Milton Keynes on Sunday.


A thrilling final reached an unpredictable climax at the Marshall Arena as Smith squandered three match darts in the deciding leg, before Wright kept his composure to hit double eight with his last dart in hand to seal further glory.

It was a maiden Masters triumph for Wright after claiming the World Championship crown on New Year’s Day, securing back-to-back televised titles for the first time in his career.

Earlier in the day, world number two Wright whitewashed Dave Chisnall 10-0 in the afternoon’s quarter-finals before seeing off his Scottish World Cup winning teammate Gary Anderson 11-7 in the semi-finals.

Smith, meanwhile, overcame Adrian Lewis 10-6 in the last eight before coming through a last-leg decider with Nathan Aspinall to set up a showdown with Wright.

The final began with Wright starting the stronger of the pair, taking a commanding 5-2 lead, only for a determined Smith to fight his way back into the contest at 6-4 despite not being at his fluent best.

A crucial break of throw followed for Smith, who then landed a 130 checkout to level it up at 8-8, and after the next four legs were shared the contest went all the way to a one-leg shoot-out.

Smith kicked off the decider with his eighth 180 of the match and followed up with a 140, but a 171 visit from Wright piled the pressure on the St Helens man, who missed two darts at double top and one at his favourite double ten to take victory.

Wright then found double eight at the third time of asking to bring the curtain down on a dramatic final, leaving Smith to rue yet another agonisingly close bid for a second TV title.

Wright and Smith will now turn their attentions to Night One of the 2020 Unibet Premier League, which will take place at Aberdeen’s new P&J Live on Thursday.

Anderson also enjoyed a strong start to the year ahead of the Premier League, with the two-time World Champion having averaged 102 in his superb 10-2 quarter-final win over Gerwyn Price.

Reigning UK Open champion Aspinall also won through to the semi-finals after continuing his Masters debut with a 10-8 win over Jonny Clayton, who was unable to follow up his defeat of Michael van Gerwen despite a strong display in the quarter-finals.

2020 Ladbrokes Masters:

Sunday February 2nd
(12.45 GMT)

Adrian Lewis 6-10 Michael Smith
Jonny Clayton 8-10 Nathan Aspinall
Gerwyn Price 2-10 Gary Anderson
Peter Wright 10-0 Dave Chisnall

(19.00 GMT)

Michael Smith 11-10 Nathan Aspinall
Gary Anderson 7-11 Peter Wright

FINAL (21)
Michael Smith 10-11 Peter Wright

Template - Date: PDC Awards 2020

World number one Van Gerwen enjoyed another year of glittering success in 2019, picking up 14 titles including a fourth successive Premier League crown.


The Dutchman also retained his World Grand Prix and Masters titles, along with other televised triumphs at the Champions League of Darts, World Series of Darts Finals, Melbourne Darts Masters and NZ Darts Masters.

Van Gerwen, who celebrated his 30th birthday in 2019, also won the ProTour player of the year award in recognition of his consistency throughout the year away from the TV cameras.

Peter Wright (Lawrence Lustig, PDC)

Newly-crowned World Champion Peter Wright scooped a hat-trick of awards, including Televised Performance of the Year for his stunning victory over Van Gerwen to win the World Championship Final.

The popular Scot has also been recognised by fans and fellow-players alike for his achievements by winning the Fans’ Player of the Year and PDPA Players’ Player of the Year awards.

Glen Durrant (Lawrence Lustig, PDC)

The Best Newcomer Award went to Glen Durrant, whose stellar first year in the PDC saw him reach the semi-finals of three televised events, including a memorable week in Blackpool at the World Matchplay.

Luke Humphries (Lawrence Lustig, PDC)

Luke Humprhies was awarded Young Player of the Year after becoming World Youth Champion for the first time and reaching the World Championship Quarter-Finals for a second successive year.

Players who achieved a perfect leg in PDC tournaments during 2019 were recognised with places in the PDC Nine-Dart Club, with Van Gerwen’s televised perfect leg at the Players Championship Finals earning him a commemorative gold pin badge.

Silver pin badges are awarded to recognise the record-breaking 46 perfect legs hit away from the TV cameras on the PDC circuit last year.

2019 PDC Award Winners

Player of the Year

Winner: Michael van Gerwen
Nominated: Peter Wright, Gerwyn Price, Rob Cross

Fans’ Player of the Year

Winner: Peter Wright
Runner-up: Gerwyn Price

PDPA Players’ Player of the Year

Winner: Peter Wright
Runner-up: Gerwyn Price, Nathan Aspinall (joint-second)

Televised Performance of the Year

Winner: Peter Wright (World Championship Final v Michael van Gerwen)
Nominated: Gerwyn Price (Grand Slam of Darts Final v Peter Wright), Michael van Gerwen (World Grand Prix Final v Dave Chisnall), Glen Durrant (World Matchplay Last 16 v Michael van Gerwen)

Best Newcomer

Winner: Glen Durrant
Nominated: Jamie Hughes, Darius Labanauskas, Jose De Sousa

ProTour Player of the Year

Winner: Michael van Gerwen
Nominated: Ian White, Gerwyn Price, Peter Wright

Young Player of the Year

Winner: Luke Humphries
Nominated: Ted Evetts, Jeffrey de Zwaan, Max Hopp

PDC Nine-Dart Club

Gold Pins: Michael van Gerwen
Silver Pins: Dave Chisnall (x3), Geert Nentjes (x3), Michael van Gerwen (x3), Gerwyn Price (x2), Ritchie Edhouse (x2), Ted Evetts (x2), Peter Jacques, Chris Dobey, Ricky Evans, Scott Baker, Danny Noppert, Brian Raman, James Wade, Mark McGeeney, Harry Ward, Callan Rydz, Steve Beaton, Geert De Vos, Michael Rasztovits, Robert Thornton, Madars Razma, Lourence Ilagan, Dimitri Van den Bergh, Andy Jenkins, Kyle Anderson, Boris Koltsov, Simon Preston, John Henderson, Matt Clark, Jose De Sousa, Jeffrey de Zwaan, Rob Cross, Ian White, Cody Harris, Mensur Suljovic James Beeton, Keane Barry