Template - Date: Austrian Darts Championship ‘ET10’

Mensur Suljovic defeated Michael van Gerwen 8-7 to win the Austrian Darts Championship in Vienna.


Home hero Mensur Suljovic took glory in the Austrian Darts Championship in Vienna with a rousing comeback from 6-3 down to win the final against Michael van Gerwen 8-7 on Sunday night.

Suljovic having never previously won a stage match in his home city, the Austrian number one rose to the challenge as he claimed his third PDC European Tour title, scooping a £25,000 top prize.

Van Gerwen played his part in a hugely entertaining final, taking a 2-0 lead and then landing a brilliant ten-darter as he moved 3-2 up. Suljovic capitalised on three missed doubles to level in leg six, only for Van Gerwen to take the next three as he moved 6-3 up.

Four missed doubles in leg ten from the World Champion allowed Suljovic to hit back, and he then took out 121 and 86 to delight the Vienna crowd by pulling level.

A miss at double 15 for a 150 checkout in the next allowed Van Gerwen to move a leg away from the title at 7-6, with Suljovic taking the game to a decider.

A timely 180 from Van Gerwen saw him be first to a finish in the final leg, but he missed the bull to take out 84 before Suljovic took out 70 on his favoured double 14 to claim a momentous victory.

  • For the Current ETOoM Table CLICK HERE
  • If on the APP go to the rankings area.

Sunday September 1st

(Afternoon Session)

Gerwyn Price 1-6 Vincent van der Voort
Adrian Lewis 2-6 Cameron Menzies
Mensur Suljovic 6-2 James Wilson
Ian White 6-2 Keegan Brown
Rowby-John Rodriguez 6-5 Mike De Decker
Peter Wright 6-5 Joe Cullen
Dave Chisnall 3-6 Ricky Evans
Michael van Gerwen 6-3 Jeffrey de Zwaan

(Evening Session)

Vincent van der Voort 6-4 Cameron Menzies
Mensur Suljovic 6-4 Ian White
Rowby-John Rodriguez 5-6 Peter Wright
Ricky Evans 0-6 Michael van Gerwen

Vincent van der Voort 4-7 Mensur Suljovic
Peter Wright 6-7 Michael van Gerwen

FINAL (15)
Mensur Suljovic 8-7 Michael van Gerwen

Prize Fund:

Winner: £25,000
Runner-up: £10,000
Semi-Finalists: £6,500
Quarter-Finalists: £5,000
Last 16: £3,000
Last 32: £2,000
Last 48: £1,000
TOTAL: £140,000


William O’Connor 4-6 Brendan Dolan
James Wilson 6-2 Gavin Carlin
Adam Gawlas 6-5 Ross Smith
Ted Evetts 3-6 Rusty-Jake Rodriguez
Cameron Menzies 6-1 Kevin Munch
Dietmar Burger 6-3 Cor Dekker
Justin Pipe 4-6 Vincent van der Voort
Jermaine Wattimena 5-6 Christian Bunse
Alex Steinbauer 4-6 Kirk Shepherd
Mark Webster 3-6 Dimitri Van den Bergh
Luke Humphries 6-5 Jamie Hughes
Hannes Schnier 5-6 Keegan Brown
Mike De Decker 6-5 Chris Dobey
Rowby-John Rodriguez 6-5 Josh Payne
Jeffrey de Zwaan 6-3 Christian Goedl
Kyle Anderson 6-4 Stephen Bunting

Steve Beaton 5-6 James Wilson
Simon Whitlock 4-6 Vincent van der Voort
Gerwyn Price 6-4 Brendan Dolan
Dave Chisnall 6-2 Dietmar Burger
Ricky Evans 6-1 Kirk Shepherd
Michael Smith 2-6 Cameron Menzies
Ian White 6-1 Rusty-Jake Rodriguez
Adrian Lewis 6-4 Christian Bunse
Nathan Aspinall 4-6 Keegan Brown
Daryl Gurney4-6 Rowby-John Rodriguez
Jonny Clayton 3-6 Mike De Decker
Peter Wright 6-5 Dimitri Van den Bergh
Mensur Suljovic 6-2 Adam Gawlas
Joe Cullen 6-2 Luke Humphries
Michael van Gerwen 6-2 Kyle Anderson
Darren Webster 4-6 Jeffrey de Zwaan