Template - Date: Brisbane Darts Masters ‘WORLD SERIES 3’

New Australian Darts hero Damon Heta won the Brisbane Darts Masters on Saturday, with an incredible win in the final over Rob Cross.


The 2019 Brisbane Darts Masters in Association with Pirate Life came to a dramatic conclusion on Saturday night with Damon Heta defying the odds to claim a first PDC title, beating Rob Cross in a last leg decider at the BCEC.

Heta, who was celebrating his 32nd birthday, became the first Australian to make a final of a World Series event since Kyle Anderson and Corey Cadby contested the 2017 Auckland Darts Masters, and the first to do so in his home country. Cross who had beaten World number one Michael van Gerwen in the previous year’s final improved his unbeaten record in Brisbane until clashing with the unfancied Heta in the decider.

The final began with Cross opening up a 3-1 lead including an 11-dart break of throw in the fourth for a two leg advantage. Heta, then punished Cross for missing six darts at a double to break straight back before taking out his second 164 finish of the tournament to draw level.

The pair then traded throw until what seemed a crucial break came in the tenth leg with Cross taking out 90 on double 18 to go 6-4 ahead and within two legs of the title. Heta, who tops the DPA’s Order of Merit, wasn’t done there though as he immediately broke back and held throw to level, to put the pressure back on Cross.

The former World Champion stood up to the test initially though as he held to go one leg closer to retaining his title but once again the Australian fought back to take it to a decider, despite facing a match-dart from Cross. The final leg saw Heta eventually pin double 16 to claim what seemed an unlikely title and delight the crowd in Brisbane.

“It’s unexplainable. I have just grown throughout this whole tournament. I have worked hard for this and it’s paid off in the end and I am just super stoked,” said Heta after the final.

“I have got to pinch myself just to make sure it’s happening, I am lost for words. I know what I can do and how good I can be and today I showed the world.

“To do that in front of an Australian crowd was amazing and hopefully I’ll be able to come over to the UK soon and when I do people better watch out.”

The day belonged to Damon Heta though as the man from Perth secured his first televised PDC title in style and with that putting Australian darts firmly on the map.

The fourth World Series event of 2019 and the second of the tour Down Under will see some of the world’s best players head to the Melbourne arena for the third staging of the Melbourne Darts Masters on August 16-17.

Friday, August 9th

First Round (11)
Raymond van Barneveld 6-2 Haupai Puha
Daryl Gurney 6-4 Koha Kokiri
Damon Heta 6-5 James Wade
Simon Whitlock 6-1 Brendon McCausland
Rob Cross 6-5 James Bailey
Michael van Gerwen 6-0 Ben Robb
Gary Anderson 6-1 Corey Cadby
Peter Wright 5-6 Kyle Anderson

Saturday, August 10th

Quarter-Finals (15)
Kyle Anderson 0-8 Simon Whitlock
Damon Heta 8-6 Gary Anderson
Rob Cross 8-4 Raymond van Barneveld
Daryl Gurney 8-5 Michael van Gerwen

Semi-Finals (15)
Simon Whitlock 6-8 Damon Heta
Rob Cross 8-3 Daryl Gurney

Final (15)
Damon Heta 8-7 Rob Cross