Template - Date: UNIBET Premier League goes to MvG

MICHAEL VAN GERWEN won his fifth Unibet Premier League title at The O2 in London on Thursday, defeating Rob Cross 11-5 in the final.


World number one Van Gerwen recorded a 10-7 win over Play-Offs debutant Daryl Gurney in the semi-finals to make it through to his seventh successive Premier League final. There, the reigning World Champion got the better of Cross in the battle of the world’s top two to win a record-equalling fourth consecutive Premier League crown and the £250,000 top prize.

“This feeling of winning the Premier League never changes, it means a lot to me,” said Van Gerwen, who had already secured the £25,000 league leader’s bonus after topping the league table for a seventh straight year. “This year has been an amazing tournament, and at times a difficult tournament for myself, but in the end I came through and that’s all that matters.

“Rob is a gentleman and a top player who pushed me all the way. He’s been chasing me all year but it wasn’t quite enough for him this time but he is a strong rival for the future.”

Michael van Gerwen (Lawrence Lustig, PDC)

The final between the top two from the league phase began with a break of throw in the opening leg from Van Gerwen, who went on to take out 90 for a double-break and a 4-1 lead. The Dutchman, who ended the match with five 180s and a 103.36 average, then landed a 112 checkout for a 5-1 advantage, before Cross rallied and took the next three legs to make it 5-4.

The tenth leg proved to be a pivotal point in the contest as former World Champion Cross fired wide with three darts at double to level, allowing Van Gerwen to take out 74 to make it 6-4 at the interval. After the break, Van Gerwen poured more water on the Cross fire with a 72 checkout to break throw and put daylight between the pair, which he followed up with an 11-dart hold of throw.

Cross found double six to stop the rot and reduce the arrears to 8-5, only for Van Gerwen to reel off the final three legs, sealing victory in style with a sublime 130 checkout to tearfully retain his title.

2019 Unibet Premier League

Thursday May 23rd The O2, London

Semi-Finals (19)
(96.48) Michael van Gerwen 10-7 Daryl Gurney (94.02)
(100.31) Rob Cross 10-5 James Wade (91.91)

Final (21)
(103.36) Michael van Gerwen 11-5 Rob Cross (100.98)