Template - Date: German Darts Open (ET4)

‘Mighty’ Michael van won his first German Darts Open title with an 8-3 victory over Ian White in the final from Saarbrucken on Sunday.


Van Gerwen produced his fourth ton-plus average of the day to comfortably defeat White and secure his 31st European Title at the Saarlandhalle. The path to the final was not straightforward for the world number one, who came through three last-leg deciders and survived five match darts on his way to landing the £25,000 top prize.

A dramatic final day of action saw Van Gerwen produce a match-winning 114 finish to defeat Raymond van Barneveld 6-5, before surviving a match dart from Nathan Aspinall in the quarter-finals despite the Dutchman posting a 107.4 average.

In Van Gerwen’s 40th European Tour semi-final, Dave Chisnall missed four match darts as the reigning World Champion won a thriller 7-6 to extend his sensational run of last-leg decider wins to 23 matches. Van Gerwen then saw off White to make it three wins from four European Tour events in 2019, and 31 European Tour titles from 62 events entered in his glittering career to date.

Michael van Gerwen, Ian White (Sven Neuschäfer, PDC Europe)

The final of the £140,000 tournament began with a hold of throw each before Van Gerwen landed the first break with a superb 130 checkout to go 3-1 up. The next four legs were all won by Van Gerwen in convincing fashion, as White struggled to match the Dutchman’s heavy scoring.

However, White broke throw for the first time with a 13-darter, which he followed with an 86 checkout to keep the contest alive, only for Van Gerwen to find double eight to end White’s hopes of a second European Tour title in his third final on the continent.

Departing Dutchman Van Barneveld starred in the final day of a European Tour event for the first time in over two years, while an unpredictable final in Saarbrucken saw all four quarter-final clashes go the distance.

Multiple-televised finalist Chisnall reached his first Euro Tour semi-final in almost two years with a thrilling 6-5 defeat of Mensur Suljovic, as former World Champion Rob Cross made it through to his second European Tour semi-final of the year with a 6-5 win over Gerwyn Price.

Sunday April 28th

Afternoon Session (12.00 BST)

Third Round (11 Legs)
Gerwyn Price 6-2 Jamie Hughes
Rob Cross 6-3 Joe Cullen
Adrian Lewis 6-3 John Henderson
Ian White 6-2 Darren Webster
Peter Wright 1-6 Dave Chisnall
Mensur Suljovic 6-3 Daryl Gurney
James Wade 2-6 Nathan Aspinall
Michael van Gerwen 6-5 Raymond van Barneveld

Evening Session (18.15 BST)

Quarter-Finals (11 Legs)
Gerwyn Price 5-6 Rob Cross
Adrian Lewis 5-6 Ian White
Dave Chisnall 6-5 Mensur Suljovic
Nathan Aspinall 5-6 Michael van Gerwen

Semi-Finals (13 Legs)
Rob Cross 5-7 Ian White
Dave Chisnall 6-7 Michael van Gerwen

Final (15 Legs)
Ian White 3-8 Michael van Gerwen

Prize Fund:

Winner: £25,000
Runner-up: £10,000
Semi-Finalists: £6,500
Quarter-Finalists: £5,000
Last 16: £3,000
Last 32: £2,000
Last 48: £1,000
Total: £140,000


2019 Ian White 3-8 Michael van Gerwen
2018 Max Hopp 8-7 Michael Smith
2017 Peter Wright 6-5 Benito van de Pas

Current ETOoM Table:

For the current full table CLICK HERE