Template - Date: Gurney wins first European Tour

Daryl Gurney defeated Rob Cross, Stephen Bunting and Adrian Lewis before edging out Evans in an exciting decider at Halle 39 in Hildesheim.


The Northern Irishman, who won the 2018 Players Championship Finals, opened up a 5-1 lead in the final but was pegged back by fast-throwing Evans – who won five of the following six legs to level.

Former World Grand Prix champion Gurney closed out the win, however, with finishes of 46 and 96 to add a European Tour triumph to his two televised titles and ProTour glory.  “It’s amazing for me to win this title,” said Gurney, who moved up to third on the PDC Order Merit after taking the £25,000 first prize. 

“Congratulations to Ricky on his run too. He is a phenomenal player and is so fast he makes me look slow. “My best friend, the person who got me back into darts, passed away a few years ago and I dedicate all of my success to him.”

Evans reached his second European Tour final by claiming victories against Mervyn King, Darren Webster and Keegan Brown on an thrilling final day of action, which included a nine-darter from James Wade in his last 16 defeat to Webster.

2019 German Darts Championship

Sunday March 31st

THIRD ROUND (Afternoon)
Peter Wright 6-3 Jermaine Wattimena
Adrian Lewis 6-2 Joe Cullen
Rob Cross  2-6 Daryl Gurney
Ian White 4-6 Stephen Bunting
James Wade 5-6 Darren Webster
Ricky Evans 6-4 Mervyn King
Gerwyn Price 6-1 Jonny Clayton
Keegan Brown 6-0 James Wilson

Peter Wright 2-6 Adrian Lewis
Daryl Gurney 6-5 Stephen Bunting
Darren Webster 5-6 Ricky Evans
Gerwyn Price 5-6 Keegan Brown

Adrian Lewis 5-7 Daryl Gurney
Ricky Evans 7-3 Keegan Brown

FINAL (Evening)
Daryl Gurney 8-6 Ricky Evans

Prize Fund:

Winner: £25,000
Runner-up: £10,000
Semi-Finalists: £6,500
Quarter-Finalists: £5,000
Last 16: £3,000
Last 32: £2,000
Last 48: £1,000
Total: £140,000