Template - Date: Gibraltar Darts Trophy ‘ET7’

MICHAEL VAN GERWEN claimed his 25th European Tour title and a fifth of the year as he defeated Adrian Lewis 8-3 in the final of the Gibraltar Darts Trophy.


The world number one backed up his Unibet Premier League and Betway World Cup of Darts titles with another triumph, making it four European Tour crowns in a row to continue his dominance in 2018.

The sixth staging of the tournament at the Victoria Stadium saw runner-up Lewis return to his best, but Van Gerwen was in unstoppable form in the final, averaging 108.13 as he picked up the £25,000 prize.

Van Gerwen hit an incredible tournament average of 104.37 as he saw off close friend Vincent van der Voort in Saturday evening’s second round, before breezing past Andy Boulton, Jonny Clayton and Steve West to reach the final.

2018 Gibraltar Darts Trophy

Michael van Gerwen 6-2 Jonny Clayton
Steve West 6-5 Rob Cross
Gerwyn Price 5-6 Paul Nicholson
Adrian Lewis 6-3 Peter Wright

Michael van Gerwen 7-4 Steve West
Paul Nicholson 6-7 Adrian Lewis

‘108.13’ Michael van Gerwen 8-3 Adrian Lewis ‘96.69’

Other Results

Friday June 8th

First Round
Krzysztof Ratajski 3-6 Michael Barnard
Jeffrey de Graaf 4-6 Darius Labanauskas
Brendan Dolan 6-4 James Wilson
Matt Padgett 5-6 Mike De Decker
Andy Boulton 6-5 Ritchie Edhouse
Hannes Schnier 6-2 Roy Asquez
Toni Alcinas 3-6 Steve West
Jamie Lewis 3-6 Ross Smith
Adam Huckvale 6-3 Richie Burnett
Cristo Reyes 6-5 Robert Thornton
Vincent van der Voort 6-3 Barrie Bates
Paul Nicholson 6-0 Antony Lopez
Max Hopp 6-0 Mark Dudbridge
Jermaine Wattimena 6-1 Tony Dawkins
Chris Dobey 6-2 Steve Lennon
Adrian Lewis 6-0 Clayton Otton

Saturday June 9th

Second Round
Stephen Bunting 4-6 Andy Boulton
Gerwyn Price 6-2 Mike De Decker
Darren Webster 5-6 Steve West
James Wade 5-6 Ross Smith
Simon Whitlock 6-1 Adam Huckvale
Jonny Clayton 6-0 Hannes Schnier
Ian White 4-6 Max Hopp
Daryl Gurney 6-4 Brendan Dolan
Joe Cullen 6-1 Darius Labanauskas
Jermaine Wattimena 6-5 Michael Smith
Rob Cross 6-5 Cristo Reyes
Michael van Gerwen 6-4 Vincent van der Voort
Paul Nicholson 6-4 Dave Chisnall
Adrian Lewis 6-3 Mensur Suljovic
Chris Dobey 6-3 Mervyn King
Peter Wright 6-2 Michael Barnard

Sunday June 10th

Last 16
Michael van Gerwen 6-2 Andy Boulton
Jonny Clayton 6-2 Max Hopp
Daryl Gurney 1-6 Steve West
Rob Cross 6-2 Simon Whitlock
Jermaine Wattimena 3-6 Gerwyn Price
Joe Cullen 5-6 Paul Nicholson
Adrian Lewis 6-5 James Wade
Peter Wright 6-1 Chris Dobey

Format – All games up to and including the quarter-finals are the best of 11 legs, with the semi-finals the best of 13 legs and the final the best of 15 legs.