Template - Date: Betway World Cup 2018

THE Netherlands won the Betway World Cup of Darts for a record-equalling fourth time as Michael van Gerwen and Raymond van Barneveld defeated Scotland’s Gary Anderson and Peter Wright 3-1 in Sunday’s final in Frankfurt.


The Dutch duo retained their crown in emphatic style, easing past Gibraltar and South Africa without losing a leg in the opening two rounds to make it through to the last day of action at the Eissporthalle.

Their title bid continued with a 2-0 quarter-final win over hosts Germany, before defeating Belgium 2-0 in the last four and then overcoming Scotland in the first ever final between the two nations. “I think we played a phenomenal game through the whole tournament,” said Van Gerwen.

Netherlands (Kelly Deckers, PDC)

“Any tournament you compete in you want to win, but playing alongside Raymond for our country makes it extra special. “We did the right things at the right moments and that’s what made us champions.”

Van Gerwen got the Netherlands off to a flying start in the opening game of the final, hitting finishes of 143 and 112 in his 4-2 win over Peter Wright to give the Dutchmen an early advantage. Anderson wasted no time in levelling the tie, firing in five maximums en route to an emphatic 4-1 defeat of Van Barneveld to make it all-square going into the doubles.

The Dutch duo blew the Scots away 4-1 in the Doubles with another impressive display, featuring a magnificent 135 checkout from Van Barneveld, to put the Netherlands within a point of glory. Van Gerwen sealed the title for the Netherlands with a 4-0 whitewash of Anderson, with the world number one posting a 111.33 average to retain the World Cup.

“Playing alongside the best player in the world is always a pleasure,” said World Cup ever-present Van Barneveld.

Netherlands (Kelly Deckers, PDC)

“It was a tough game against Gary, he played amazing and hit five 180s and I didn’t have much time to recover for the doubles. “I managed to get it together and we played a great doubles match to really get hold of the match, and then Michael finished the job for us. It feels amazing to win this title again.”

Scotland (Kelly Deckers, PDC)

Scotland’s run to the final was their best finish in the tournament since 2015, as they saw off the United States of America, Brazil, Japan and Australia to reach their second ever final.

“It was a shame we came up short in the final, but I think we can be proud of how we played in the tournament,” said Anderson. “Maybe next year we can go one better, but fair play to Michael and Raymond they deserved the win this time.”

The Scottish pair suffered a shock first round exit at the hands of Singapore in last year’s event, but bounced back with a strong display this year.

“I loved playing in front of this amazing crowd,” said Wright.

Sunday June 3rd


Scotland v Japan

Peter Wright 4-0 Seigo Asada
Gary Anderson 4-0 Haruki Muramatsu
Final Result: Scotland 2-0 Japan

Australia v Wales

Simon Whitlock 4-2 Gerwyn Price
Kyle Anderson 0-4 Jonny Clayton
Doubles: Australia 4-1 Wales
Final Result: Australia 2-1 Wales

England v Belgium

Kim Huybrechts 2-4 Rob Cross
Dimitri Van den Bergh 4-3 Dave Chisnall
Doubles: Belgium 4-0 England
Final Result: Belgium 2-1 England

Netherlands v Germany

Michael van Gerwen 4-1 Martin Schindler
Raymond van Barneveld 4-0 Max Hopp
Final Result: Netherlands 2-0 Germany


Scotland v Australia

(106.14) Peter Wright 4-3 Simon Whitlock (99.49)
(90.91) Gary Anderson 3-4 Kyle Anderson (95.10)
Doubles: Scotland 4-3 Australia
Final Result: Scotland 2-1 Australia

Belgium v Netherlands

(97.65) Kim Huybrechts 3-4 Michael van Gerwen (105.78)
(107.54) Dimitri Van den Bergh 2-4 Raymond van Barneveld (113.38)
Final Result: Belgium 0-2 Netherlands


Scotland v Netherlands

(96.79) Peter Wright 2-4 Michael van Gerwen (97.20)
(97.21)  Gary Anderson 4-1 Raymond van Barneveld (84.60)
Doubles: Scotland 1-4 Netherlands
(99.06) Gary Anderson 0-4 Michael van Gerwen (111.33)
Final Result: Scotland 1-3 Netherlands

2018 Betway World Cup of Darts Results/Schedules

Thursday May 31st

(7pm local time, 6pm BST)

First Round
Canada 5-1 Italy
Spain 5-4 Russia
Switzerland 5-2 China
Brazil 5-1 Denmark
Wales 5-3 Thailand
Australia 5-1 Hong Kong
Scotland 5-1 United States of America
Austria 4-5 Japan

Friday June 1st

(7pm local time, 6pm BST)

First Round
Singapore 5-3 New Zealand
Finland 5-1 Greece
Northern Ireland 5-4 Poland
South Africa 5-3 Hungary
Belgium 5-4 Republic of Ireland
England 5-3 Czech Republic
Germany 5-3 Sweden
Netherlands 5-0 Gibraltar

Saturday June 2nd

Afternoon Session (1.30pm local time, 12.30pm BST)

Second Round
Wales 2-1 Switzerland
Australia 2-1 Spain
Japan 2-0 Canada
Scotland 2-0 Brazil

Evening Session (7pm local time, 6pm BST)

Second Round
Belgium 2-0 Finland
England 2-1 Singapore
Northern Ireland 1-2 Germany
Netherlands 2-0 South Africa

Format: The Second Round will be played as two best of seven leg 501 Singles matches, with both nations nominating the order in which their players play. In the event of both nations winning one Singles match apiece, a best of seven leg 501 Doubles match will be played to decide the tie.

Competing Nations

Seeded Nations
1 Scotland – Peter Wright & Gary Anderson
2 England – Rob Cross & Dave Chisnall
3 Netherlands – Michael van Gerwen & Raymond van Barneveld
4 Australia – Simon Whitlock & Kyle Anderson
5 Wales – Gerwyn Price & Jonny Clayton
6 Northern Ireland – Daryl Gurney & Brendan Dolan
7 Belgium – Kim Huybrechts & Dimitri Van den Bergh
8 Austria – Mensur Suljovic & Zoran Lerchbacher

Other Nations
Brazil – Diogo Portela & Bruno Rangel
Canada – John Part & Dawson Murschell
China – Momo Zhou & Xiaochen Zong
Czech Republic – Roman Benecky & Karel Sedlacek
Denmark – Per Laursen & Henrik Primdal
Finland – Kim Viljanen & Marko Kantele
Germany – Max Hopp & Martin Schindler
Gibraltar – Dyson Parody & Justin Broton
Greece – John Michael & Veniamin Symeonidis
Hong Kong – Royden Lam & Ho Yin Shek
Hungary – Tamas Alexits & Nandor Bezzeg
Italy – Michel Furlani & Alessio Medaina
Japan – Seigo Asada & Haruki Muramatsu
New Zealand – Cody Harris & Warren Parry
Poland – Krzysztof Ratajski & Tytus Kanik
Republic of Ireland – Steve Lennon & William O’Connor
Russia – Boris Koltsov & Aleksandr Oreshkin
Singapore – Paul Lim & Harith Lim
South Africa – Devon Petersen & Liam O’Brien
Spain – Cristo Reyes & Toni Alcinas
Sweden – Daniel Larsson & Dennis Nilsson
Switzerland – Alexander Fehlmann & Andreas Bless
Thailand – Thanawat Gaweenuntavong & Attapol Eupakaree
United States of America – Larry Butler & Darin Young

Prize Fund

Winners (Per Player) £30,000
Runner-Up (Per Player) £16,000
Semi-Finalists (Per Player) £10,000
Quarter-Finalists (Per Player) £7,000
Second Round Losers (Per Player) £4,000
First Round Losers (Per Player) £1,500
Total £300,000