Template - Date: Honours for Bristow & van Gerwen

The late Eric Bristow MBE is to be honoured by the PDC with the naming of the Bwin Grand Slam of Darts trophy in memory of the five-time World Champion.

The legendary darts star passed away on April 5 2018, aged 60, having enjoyed a remarkable career in the sport. A five-time World Champion from 1980-1986, Bristow was also a five-time World Masters winner and one of the game’s most recognisable stars.

He later helped to form the PDC, and went on to become a TV pundit and spotter on Sky Sports’ coverage of PDC events and starred in ITV’s “I’m A Celebrity…Get Me Out Of Here!” show in 2012.

Van Gerwen (Lawrence Lustig, PDC)

A member of the PDC Hall of Fame, Bristow will now be remembered at the cross-code Grand Slam of Darts, with this year’s players competing to win The Eric Bristow Trophy.

“Eric’s achievements marked him out as the greatest player of his generation and he’ll be remembered forever as the original superstar of darts,” said PDC Chairman Barry Hearn. “He was a character who transcended the sport and was known worldwide, and so many sports fans worldwide have fond memories of Eric.

Bristow (PDC)

“As such, we felt that it was fitting to introduce The Eric Bristow Trophy, which will be presented to the winner of the Bwin Grand Slam of Darts from 2018 onwards.

“Whilst Eric played an integral role in the creation of the PDC, the most successful period of his career came in the BDO and, as the only cross-code tournament in darts, we feel this is the most appropriate way to honour his contribution to the sport.”

Bristow becomes the third legend of the sport to see their achievements recognised with the naming of a trophy, following Sid Waddell (William Hill World Darts Championship) and Phil Taylor (BetVictor World Matchplay).

MICHAEL VAN GERWEN has been presented with the Dutch equivalent of an MBE.

The world number one became the youngest person to receive the prestigious medal as a Knight of the Order of Orange-Nassau by the Mayor, on behalf of the King.


Fellow Dutch darts legend Raymond Van Barneveld also received the honour in 1999.

Since switching to the PDC in 2007, Van Gerwen has racked up an astonishing 41 televised titles, including five televised nine-dart finishes, along with 64 non-televised PDC titles.

The two-time World Champion now has his sights set on adding to his three Premier League crowns at The O2 on May 17.