Template - Date: Players Championship Finals

The Dutchman has won the European Championship, World Series of Darts Finals and Grand Slam of Darts titles over the past month, and extended his unbeaten streak to 28 matches as he scooped the £100,000 title.

Van Gerwen had seen off Jan Dekker in their all-Dutch quarter-final earlier on Sunday and then pulled clear from two-all to win 11-3 against Justin Pipe in the semi-finals. He was equally dominant in the final against Welshman Clayton, who never recovered from seeing Van Gerwen race into a five-leg lead.

Van Gerwen set the tone with two 180s in a 12-darter to open the game, and also finished 100 in leg five to move 5-0 up, with Clayton claiming two of the next three to reduce the arrears. Van Gerwen, though, finished an 11-darter as he moved 8-2 up and added a 13-darter to edge towards victory before double five sealed glory for a fourth time in five years.

“It’s been a phenomenal weekend,” said Van Gerwen. “It was a great tournament, I think I played really well and I had to perform against new players round by round, so I had to keep my focus.

“Jonny did great to reach the final. It’s a big step for him because he wasn’t in the top 32, so it’s a massive step for his career. Fair play to him, he did really well but I’m glad I won the final.

“After not being here in the UK Open I’m really glad to be back here with this trophy. I’ve won the last four TV tournaments so this is great for my confidence going into the World Championship – but I’ll enjoy this title first.”

Clayton had won through to his first TV final, with his career-high £40,000 in prize money moving the 43-year-old into the world’s top 32 for the first time and putting himself in line for a Grand Slam of Darts place in 2018.

Clayton showed his class by coming from 7-4 down to defeat Steve Beaton 10-8 in the quarter-finals before also fighting back from a 6-3 deficit to see off top seed Rob Cross 11-8 in the semis.

“You take one game at a time, and to get this far in front of this amazing crowd was awesome,” said the Pontyberem ace. “I’ve had a brilliant weekend and the support I’ve had has been amazing.

“When you play against Michael on form like that it’s really difficult, but I enjoyed the final. I’m proud of what I’ve achieved this weekend.”

Pipe’s run to the semi-finals was his best finish in a televised ranking event for four years – since he previously reached the semi-finals of the same event for a second time in 2013 – as he defeated Daryl Gurney 10-9 in the last eight.

Cross was also a semi-finalist as he continued his impressive debut year on the PDC circuit with a fine 10-6 win over leading left-hander James Wade in their quarter-final.

Mr Green Sport Players Championship Finals

Sunday November 26
Afternoon Session (12.45pm)

Rob Cross 10-6 James Wade
Jonny Clayton 10-8 Steve Beaton
Daryl Gurney 9-10 Justin Pipe
Michael van Gerwen 10-7 Jan Dekker
Best of 19 legs

Evening Session (7pm)
Rob Cross 8-11 Jonny Clayton
Justin Pipe 3-11 Michael van Gewen
Best of 21 legs

PDC Unicorn World Youth Championship Final
Josh Payne 3-6 Dimitri Van den Bergh
Best of 11 legs

Mr Green Sport Players Championship Final
Jonny Clayton 2-11 Michael van Gewen
Best of 21 legs

Prize Money:

Winner £100,000
Runner-Up £40,000
Semi-Finalists £23,000
Quarter-Finalists £12,500
Last 16 losers £8,000
Last 32 losers (L24) £5,000
Last 64 losers £2,500
Total £460,000





2009 Phil Taylor    16-9 Robert Thornton
2010 Paul Nicholson    13-11 Mervyn King
2011 Feb Phil Taylor    13-12 Gary Anderson
2011 Dec Kevin Painter    13-9 Mark Webster
2012 Phil Taylor    13-6 Kim Huybrechts
2013 Michael van Gerwen    11-7 P}hil Taylor
2014 Gary Anderson    11-6 Adrian Lewis
2015 Michael van Gerwen    11-6 Adrian Lewis
2016 Michael van Gerwen    11-3 Dave Chisnall
2017 Michael van Gerwen    11-2 Jonny Clayton


Template - Date: World Youth Championship

The pair had won through to the decider earlier in November when the last 64 faced off in the early rounds in Wigan, where Payne ended Corey Cadby’s reign as the champion.

It was Belgian youngster Van den Bergh, though, who scooped the £10,000 title with a fine display in Minehead, averaging 101.23 and hitting six doubles from ten attempts. He took a two-leg lead courtesy of double top and double 16 before Payne landed a 180 and an 84 finish to hit back.

Van den Bergh hit tops in successive legs as he moved 4-1 up, and countered a 108 checkout from Payne with an outstanding 146 checkout to lead 5-2. Payne hit double 16 to stay in the game, but Van den Bergh scored 177 and 150 to leave 36 in the next before a third-dart double 18 sealed the title.

“It’s unbelievable to win this title,” said Van den Bergh. “It feels like a dream and it’s absolutely amazing.

“Winning this says something about what may happen for me in the future. It’s a step forward and there’s a whole lot more to come for me.

“It’s very important for me. Playing this tournament has prepared me well for the World Championship and whoever I play there will need to be ready.”


Winner £10,000 + place in 2017/18 William Hill World Championship + place in 2018 GSoD
Runner-Up £5,000 + place in 2018 GSoD
Semi-Finalists £2,500
Quarter-Finalists £1,500
Third Round Losers £1,000
Second Round Losers £500
First Round Losers £250
Total £50,000


YEAR            RUNNER-UP                                          SCORE                             CHAMPION

2011 Michael van Gerwen (87.06)
   4–6 Arron Monk (84.25)
2012 Michael van Gerwen (92.29)
   3–6 James Hubbard (95.18)
2013 Ricky Evans (79.26)
   1–6 Michael Smith (89.13)
2014 Rowby-John Rodriguez (79.80)
   4–6 Keegan Brown (85.67)
2015 Nathan Aspinall (88.48)
   5–6 Max Hopp (86.97)
2016 Berry van Peer (86.92)
   2–6 Corey Cadby (98.35)


PDC Rule 6.9 The following incentives are on offer to players competing in the Development Tour and World Youth Championship:


*The finalists of the 2017 World Youth Championship receive a one-year invitation to the 2018 Grand Slam of Darts subject to the entry criteria as stated in rule 3.1.

*The winner of the 2017 World Youth Championship receives an invitation to the 2017/18 World Championship.

NOTE: in the event of the players who achieve the above otherwise qualifying for the 2018 Grand Slam of Darts or 2017/18 World Championship, or rejecting their invitations, no further places shall be offered.