Template - Date: Bwin Grand Slam – The Final

Michael van Gerwen retained the bwin Grand Slam of Darts title and extended his winning streak in Wolverhampton to three years with a brilliant 16-12 success against Peter Wright in Sunday’s final.

The Dutchman had been in dominant form in Sunday afternoon’s high-profile semi-final with Taylor as he ended the six-time Grand Slam champion’s hopes of a farewell triumph at the Wolves Civic with a 16-8 success. He then denied Wright a third TV title of the year as he scooped a £112,500 winner’s cheque by continuing his Grand Slam dominance by outlasting Wright in the final.

The colourful Scot, who claimed his first TV title at March’s UK Open amongst 11 tournament wins so far in 2017, shared the opening 20 legs with Van Gerwen but was powerless to stop the Dutchman pulling away for glory. Wright took out an early 120 and hit back after Van Gerwen edged 3-2 and 4-3 up by regaining the edge as the pair traded legs, with the World Champion hitting two 12-darters, a 13-darter and six perfect darts in response.

Wright took out finishes of 156 and 149 as he led 10-9, but Van Gerwen crucially checked out 146 and 100 in a run of four successive legs to finally assert his dominance. Number two seed Wright hit back on tops and double one to claim two of the next three, but tops moved Van Gerwen 15-12 up before he sealed the title with double 16.

Van Gerwen is now unbeaten since October’s World Grand Prix, having since retained the European Championship, World Series of Darts Finals and now the Grand Slam of Darts in an imperious month.

Afternoon Session (31)

Peter Wright 16-15 Gary Anderson
Michael van Gerwen 16-8 Phil Taylor

Evening Session (31)

The Final
Michael van Gerwen 16-12 Peter Wright


Date Champion
2007 Phil Taylor
2008 Phil Taylor
2009 Phil Taylor
2010 Scott Waites
2011 Phil Taylor
2012 Raymond van Barneveld
2013 Phil Taylor
2014 Phil Taylor
2015 Michael van Gerwen
2016 Michael van Gerwen
2017 Michael van Gerwen


Winner £110,000
Runner-Up £55,000
Semi-Finalists £28,500
Quarter-Finalists £16,000
Second Round Losers £10,000
Third in Group £5,000
Fourth in Group £3,000
Group Winner Bonus £2,500
TOTAL £450,000