Template - Date: World Series ‘German Masters’

The world number three and UK Open champion has lost out twice previously in finals on the World Series circuit to Taylor, including in Melbourne in August, but took the £20,000 title with a gritty display.

Wright had survived match darts against Dragutin Horvat and Mensur Suljovic in his opening two matches, before overcoming Raymond van Barneveld 11-9 in the semi-finals. He made a superb start to the final, taking out 116 for a 12-darter in the opening leg and double 12 for a 13-darter to lead 2-0.

Taylor hit back in leg three, but Wright pushed into a 5-1 lead with three successive legs only to see his advantage halved as the 57-year-old took back-to-back legs. Wright, though, claimed a break back with a 66 finish before hitting a third 180 of the game in a 12-darter as an 81 checkout saw him restore a four-leg lead at 7-3.

A 61 finish moved Wright five legs clear and he landed a 180 and tops to move 9-3 up, with the pair trading 14-darters as the Scot moved to the brink of a victory which he sealed with another 12-dart leg on double ten.

Taylor had been aiming to win his ninth World Series title as he overcame Daryl Gurney 10-7 in the quarter-finals and then proved too strong for James Wade with an 11-7 semi-final triumph, despite finishes of 104 and 158 from the left-hander.

Wade had benefitted from the withdrawal of World Champion Michael van Gerwen on Saturday morning, due to an ankle injury, with a walkover into the semi-finals.

Van Barneveld, meanwhile, progressed to the last four by defying three bullseye finishes from Gary Anderson with a 10-8 as he avenged August’s defeat to the Scot in the Perth Darts Masters final.

The German Darts Masters concluded the year’s seven international World Series of Darts events, ahead of next month’s season-ending Ladbrokes World Series of Darts Finals in Glasgow.

The Ladbrokes World Series of Darts Finals will be held from November 3-5 at the Braehead Arena. For tickets, call 0844 499 1700 or visit www.braehead-arena.co.uk.

Saturday October 21th
Quarter-Finals (19)
(93.52) Gary Anderson 8-10 Raymond van Barneveld (97.48)
(94.62) Peter Wright 10-9 Mensur Suljovic (94.04)
(100.40) Phil Taylor 10-7 Daryl Gurney (97.00)
(Michael van Gerwen-Withdrawn) v James Wade

Evening Session
Semi-Finals (21)
94.13 Raymond van Barneveld 9-11 Peter Wright 94.94
93.10 James Wade 7-11 Phil Taylor 95.28

Final (21)
Peter Wright 11-4 Phil Taylor

Friday Results: 

Friday October 20th
90.57 Gary Anderson (1) 6-3 Max Hopp 81.82
90.11 Raymond van Barneveld 6-3 Stefan Stoyke 84.52
92.25 Peter Wright (4) 6-5 Dragutin Horvat 90.81
96.19 Kyle Anderson 5-6 Mensur Suljovic 96.97
96.80 Michael van Gerwen (2) 6-2 Martin Schindler
101.90 James Wade 6-2 Kevin Munch 88.23
92.45 Phil Taylor (3) 6-2 Robert Marijanovic 86.36
91.09 Daryl Gurney 6-0 Maik Langendorf 77.23