Template - Date: Betway Premier League Play Offs O2

MICHAEL VAN GERWEN produced a heroic comeback to retain the Betway Premier League title with a stunning 11-10 win over Peter Wright, after the Scot had ended Phil Taylor’s hopes of a fairytale farewell to the tournament.

Legendary star Taylor, 56, will retire at the end of the year but was unable to mark his final appearance in the Premier League by claiming a seventh title. The Stoke legend did hit back from 4-0 down against Wright in their semi-final to lead 9-8, but missed one match dart before the world number three claimed the win.

Wright, though, did see Van Gerwen overturn a four-leg deficit in a thrilling final before the Dutch superstar punished six missed match darts from his rival to claim the £250,000 first prize and retain the prestigious trophy.

Betway Premier League Play-Offs

Thursday May 18, The O2, London

Semi-Finals (19)

(102.22) Michael van Gerwen 10-7 Gary Anderson (102.68)
(100.04) Peter Wright 10-9 Phil Taylor (97.62)

Final (21)

(104.76) Michael van Gerwen 11-10 Peter Wright (101.06)