Template - Date: Wright wins European Darts Grand Prix

PETER WRIGHT produced a simply breath-taking display to whitewash Michael van Gerwen and win the HappyBet European Darts Grand Prix at the Glaspalast in Sindelfingen.

In a re-run of the 2016 Final, Wright proved too hot to handle as averaged just under 105 and landed 75% of his doubles on his way to a third European Tour title in just four events this year. A brilliant 11-dart leg kicked things off for Wright, as he broke the Dutchman’s throw to gain a crucial early advantage.

The Scot then capitalised on the first Van Gerwen mistake as he went inside on D16, allowing Wright to land 52 for 2-0. And despite landing two maximums in the third leg, Van Gerwen’s trouble on 16’s continued as he missed twice more.

Nevertheless, he wasn’t expecting what came next – a truly incredible 161 checkout from Wright to break once more and raise the roof of the 3,000 seater arena. That hurt Van Gerwen, and Wright quickly moved 4-0 ahead before seizing on another missed dart to break for a third time and step into a 5-0 lead. And the world number three landed a beautiful 170 to set up a 31 checkout to scoop the £25,000 prize fund.

Wright had played stunning darts throughout the tournament, and started day three by brushing aside Daryl Gurney 6-4. In the quarter-finals he faced Jan Dekker, who was enjoying one of his finest runs on the European Tour and had displayed expert finishing throughout – but Wright’s scoring power was too strong in a 6-2 victory.

Standing in his way of a Final was Jelle Klaasen, with the Dutchman having reached the final four in every European Tour event so far this year. Again Wright was clinical on his doubles, and raced into a 4-1 lead with two early breaks. The Dutchman was struggling there on as Wright breezed into the final, making it now nine games in a row that he has beaten Klaasen.

Van Gerwen’s route to the final started with a comfortable 6-2 third round victory over Finnish debutant Ulf Ceder, before beating compatriot Benito van de Pas 6-1 in the quarter-finals. In a breath-taking Semi-Final, the Dutchman was staring defeat in the face against the in-form Dave Chisnall.

After Van Gerwen stretched to a 4-2 lead with a beautiful 146 checkout, Chisnall found his groove and clinched three-legs in a row to turn the tie in his favour at 5-4. But as the World Number One regularly does, he dug deep in the deciding leg to capitalise on some slack darts from Chisnall to break and reach a 20th European Tour final.

It was a bitter pill to swallow for Chisnall, who had seen off Adrian Lewis in the third round before blowing away Rob Cross and missing D12 for a nine-darter in the quarter-finals. The checkout of the tournament come in the quarter-final stage as Klaasen showed nerves of steel against Joe Cullen.

With Cullen leading 4-3 and missing D16 for a two-leg advantage, Klaasen landed a stunning 170 checkout sucker-punch to break throw and level the game, before taking victory in a decider. The European Tour continues on May 12-14 with the Gibraltar Darts Trophy at the Victoria Stadium.

HappyBet European Darts Grand Prix

May 5th-7th Glaspalast, Sindelfingen, Germany

Schedule of Play
Friday May 5th
First Round
Afternoon Session (1pm-5pm local time, 12pm-4pm BST)

86.60 Steve Beaton 2-6 Ulf Ceder 94.28
90.78 Steve Lennon 2-6 Krzysztof Ratajski 99.52
95.33 James Richardson 6-2 Paul Rowley 84.12
88.44 Matt Clark 6-4 Rene Berndt 82.16
96.31 Rob Cross 6-3 Luke Woodhouse 93.02
85.86 Jeffrey de Graaf 4-6 Keegan Brown 86.79
89.92 Christian Kist 2-6 Jonny Clayton 96.81
79.75 Gabriel Clemens 3-6 Joe Murnan 85.61

Evening Session (7pm-11pm local time, 6pm-10pm BST)
108.12 Jan Dekker 6-3 James Wilson 89.60
90.82 Steve West 6-2 Chris Dobey 89.07
94.88 Dirk van Duijvenbode 6-5 Jermaine Wattimena 87.44
81.56 Mark Webster 6-4 Bernd Roith 83.57
96.86 Dimitri Van den Bergh 6-4 Mervyn King 96.76
90,70 Ron Meulenkamp 5-6 John Henderson 89.24
84.15 Stephen Bunting 2-6 Adrian Lewis 96.30
95.49 Max Hopp 6-4 Zoran Lerchbacher 85.76

Saturday May 6th
Second Round
Afternoon Session (1pm-5pm local time, 12pm-4pm BST)

92.13 Alan Norris 5-6 Jan Dekker 91.36
83.70 Cristo Reyes 3-6 Ulf Ceder 82.35
81.57 Jelle Klaasen 6-2 Dirk van Duijvenbode 73.68
94.71 Simon Whitlock 3-6 Rob Cross 95.93
112.25 Dave Chisnall 6-3 Matt Clark 95.65
95.28 Joe Cullen 6-1 Jonny Clayton 92.44
89.87 Benito van de Pas 6-5 Joe Murnan 92.16
92.12 Kim Huybrechts 6-3 Max Hopp 85.63

Evening Session (7pm-11pm local time, 6pm-10pm BST)
89.33 James Wade 5-6 Mark Webster 89.13
96.67 Gerwyn Price 6-3 Dimitri Van den Bergh 90.39
101.88 Michael Smith 5-6 Steve West 93.70
99.57 Daryl Gurney 6-4 John Henderson 89.41
98.47 Mensur Suljovic 6-4 Krzysztof Ratajski 91.03
100.65 Peter Wright 6-2 James Richardson 97.96
97.05 Michael van Gerwen 6-2 Keegan Brown 90.88
92.63 Ian White 4-6 Adrian Lewis 96.74

Sunday May 7th
Afternoon Session (1pm-5pm local time, 12pm-4pm BST)

Third Round

101.44 Mensur Suljovic (3) 5-6 Joe Cullen (14) 101.21
92.94 Mark Webster 1-6 Jelle Klaasen (11) 97.74
93.44 Kim Huybrechts (7) 4-6 Jan Dekker 95.75
100.38 Peter Wright (2) 6-4 Daryl Gurney (15)  99.46
103.32 Rob Cross 6-1 Steve West 100.62
99.02 Dave Chisnall (5) 6-3 Adrian Lewis 94.41
94.63 Benito van de Pas (8) 6-2 Gerwyn Price (9) 90.84
97.12 Michael van Gerwen (1) 6-2 Ulf Ceder 91.90

Evening Session (7pm-11pm local time, 6pm-10pm BST)
91.53 Joe Cullen (14) 5-6 Jelle Klaasen (11) 94.91
Jan Dekker 2-6 Peter Wright (2)
91.70 Rob Cross 3-6 Dave Chisnall (5) 95.80
89.16 Benito van de Pas (8) 1-6 Michael van Gerwen (1) 104.05

90.26 Jelle Klaasen (11) 3-6 Peter Wright (2) 99.42
97.15 Dave Chisnall (5) 5-6 Michael van Gerwen (1) 105.85

104.86 Peter Wright (2) 6-0 Michael van Gerwen (1) 99.56