Template - Date: PDC Players Championship 10

The world number two claimed the £10,000 prize dropping only twelve legs on his way to the win and was dominant throughout the day.

Anderson started the day with impressive 6-1 and 6-2 wins over Harry Robinson and Mickey Mansell respectively. Next for the Scot was Paul Nicholson, where the former Players Championship winner was blown away by Anderson in a 6-0 defeat.

Anderson then gained revenge over Michael van Gerwen who had beaten him the day before despite averaging well over 100 with a 6-4 victory. The two-time World Champion was at his ruthless best again in the quarter-finals where he whitewashed Jonny Clayton to claim a place in the last four.

Steve West was also powerless to resist the 46-year-old as Anderson secured a 6-2 win to move in to the final. Peter Wright was Anderson’s opponent in the final but yet again little could be done to stop his rampant march to the title.

The 2017 Masters finalist opened up a 3-0 lead over Wright, including a 124 finish. The decicive moment of the match came in the sixth leg where Anderson took out 116 on the bullseye to move in to a 5-1 lead with a double break of throw.

Despite a break back from Wright, Anderson secured the win on tops and was delighted with the way he played. “It went very well today, I played well and am happy with the win. “I had an average of about 110 against Michael yesterday so was really nice to get my revenge today.

“These aren’t easy to win anymore. There are 128 tops players so you’ve got to play really well to win one.” Wright’s run to the final ended a good seven days for the Scot after claiming his seventh title of the year at the HappyBet German Darts Open the week before.

The event will also be memorable for the 47-year-old as he hit a perfect nine-dart leg in his semi-final victory over Michael Smith. The world number three hit back-to-back maximums before taking out 141 on double twelve to fight back from 2-0 down to beat Smith.

Earlier in the day he overcame Mike de Decker, Jeffrey de Graaf, Wayne Jones, Jermaine Wattimena, Ryan Searle and then memorably Michael Smith before being defeated by Anderson in the final. The next set of Players Championship events takes place April 20-21 as the world’s best players head to Milton Keynes.

Players Championship Ten

Sunday April 30, Robin Park Tennis Centre, Wigan

First Round

Michael van Gerwen 6-5 John Bowles
Kirk Shepherd 6-4 Stuart Kellett
Rob Cross 6-0 Lee Bryant
Mick McGowan 6-4 Martin Schindler
Gary Anderson 6-1 Harry Robinson
Mickey Mansell 6-4 Dennis Smith
Paul Nicholson 6-4 Cristo Reyes
Jamie Bain 6-3 Ricky Williams
Gerwyn Price 6-3 James Richardson
Peter Hudson 6-3 Craig Gilchrist
James Wilson 6-1 Sven Groen
Jonny Clayton 6-5 Jimmy Hendriks
Jelle Klaasen 6-2 David Pallett
Andrew Gilding 6-4 Jamie Caven
Adrian Lewis 6-4 Jan Dekker
Jeffrey de Zwaan 6-4 Dirk van Duijvenbode
Dave Chisnall 6-1 Scott Taylor
Vincent van der Voort 6-2 Robert Owen
Chris Dobey 6-5 Terry Temple
Darren Johnson 6-2 Aden Kirk
Alan Norris 6-2 Yordi Meeuwisse
Andy Jenkins 6-1 Ross Twell
Kyle Anderson 6-0 Bryan de Hoog
Ricky Evans 6-3 Ron Meulenkamp
Jonathan Worsley 6-4 Simon Whitlock
Paul Rowley 6-2 Mark Webster
Robbie Green 6-2 Brendan Dolan
Rowby-John Rodriguez 6-5 Joe Murnan
Joe Cullen 6-4 Terry Roach
John Michael 6-1 Andy Boulton
Steve West 6-2 Jamie Lewis
John Henderson 6-3 Ryan Meikle
Peter Wright 6-2 Mike de Decker
Jeffrey de Graaf 6-3 Richie Burnett
Ronny Huybrechts 6-5 Andy Hamilton
Wayne Jones 6-4 Max Hopp
Berry van Peer 6-4 Daryl Gurney
Matt Clark 6-5 Richie Corner
Mervyn King 6-5 Paul Harvey
Jermaine Wattimena 6-3 Devon Petersen
Kim Huybrechts 6-1 Scott Darbyshire
Ryan Searle 6-5 Dimitri van den Bergh
Christian Kist 6-2 Madars Razma
Stephen Burton 6-4 Steve Hine
Ted Evetts 6-5 James Wade
Simon Preston 6-5 Tony Newell
Robert Thornton 6-3 Zoran Lerchbacher
Ritchie Edhouse 6-3 William O’Connor
Benito van de Pas 6-5 Keegan Brown
Simon Stevenson 6-1 Ronnie Baxter
Darren Webster 6-5 Mark Walsh
Shaun Griffiths 6-5 Warrick Scheffer
Ian White 6-4 Prakash Jiwa
Peter Jacques 6-1 Mick Todd
Adam Hunt 6-5 Steve Beaton
Kevin Painter 6-4 Ryan Palmer
Mensur Suljovic 6-0 Ray Campbell
Vincent Kamphuis 6-4 Alan Tabern
Justin Pipe 6-5 Wes Newton
Steve Lennon 6-2 Matthew Dennant
Michael Smith 6-4 Jim Walker
Richard North 6-0 Jim Brown
Josh Payne 6-5 Stephen Bunting
Chris Quantock 6-5 Mark Barilli

Second Round

Michael van Gerwen 6-2 Kirk Shepherd
Rob Cross 6-4 Mick McGowan
Gary Anderson 6-2 Mickey Mansell
Paul Nicholson 6-1 Jamie Bain
Peter Hudson 6-4 Gerwyn Price
Jonny Clayton 6-2 James Wilson
Jelle Klaasen 6-4 Andrew Gilding
Adrian Lewis 6-3 Jeffrey de Zwaan
Dave Chisnall 6-4 Vincent van der Voort
Darren Johnson 6-2 Chris Dobey
Alan Norris 6-4 Andy Jenkins
Kyle Anderson 6-5 Ricky Evans
Jonathan Worsley 6-1 Paul Rowley
Robbie Green 6-1 Rowby-John Rodriguez
John Michael 6-2 Joe Cullen
Steve West 6-3 John Henderson
Peter Wright 6-2 Jeffrey de Graaf
Wayne Jones 6-4 Ronny Huybrechts
Berry van Peer 6-4 Matt Clark
Jermaine Wattimena 6-5 Mervyn King
Ryan Searle 6-5 Kim Huybrechts
Christian Kist 6-3 Stephen Burton
Simon Preston 6-4 Ted Evetts
Robert Thornton 6-0 Ritchie Edhouse
Benito van de Pas 6-4 Simon Stevenson
Darren Webster 6-3 Shaun Griffiths
Ian White 6-5 Peter Jacques
Adam Hunt 6-2 Kevin Painter
Mensur Suljovic 6-1 Vincent Kamphuis
Justin Pipe 6-4 Steve Lennon
Michael Smith 6-4 Richard North
Josh Payne 6-5 Chris Quantock

Third Round

Michael van Gerwen 6-5 Rob Cross
Gary Anderson 6-0 Paul Nicholson
Jonny Clayton 6-4 Peter Hudson
Adrian Lewis 6-3 Jelle Klaasen
Darren Johnson 6-1 Dave Chisnall
Alan Norris 6-2 Kyle Anderson
Robbie Green 6-2 Jonathan Worsley
Steve West 6-2 John Michael
Peter Wright 6-3 Wayne Jones
Jermaine Wattimena 6-4 Berry van Peer
Ryan Searle 6-3 Christain Kist
Simon Preston v Robert Thornton
Benito van de Pas 6-5 Darren Webster
Ian White 6-1 Adam Hunt
Mensur Suljovic 2-6 Justin Pipe
Michael Smith 6-2 Josh Payne
LOSERS £1,000

Fourth Round

Gary Anderson 6-4 Michael van Gerwen
Jonny Clayton 6-5 Adrian Lewis
Alan Norris 6-5 Darren Johnson
Steve West 6-5 Robbie Green
Peter Wright 6-4 Jermaine Wattimena
Ryan Searle 6-4 Simon Preston
Ian White 6-4 Benito van de Pas
Michael Smith 6-1 Justin Pipe
LOSERS £1,500

Quarter Finals

Gary Anderson 6-0 Jonny Clayton
Steve West 6-3 Alan Norris
Peter Wright 6-5 Ryan Searle
Ian White 5-6 Michael Smith
LOSERS £2,250

Semi Finals

Gary Anderson 6-2 Steve West
Peter Wright 6-3 Michael Smith 9 Darter Peter Wright
LOSERS £3,000


Gary Anderson 6-3 Peter Wright
Winner £10,000
Runner Up £6,000