Template - Date: PDC Players Championship 9

MICHAEL VAN GERWEN landed a nine-dart finish as he won his second Players Championship of 2017 by defeating Robert Thornton 6-2 in Saturday’s final in Wigan.

The World Champion followed up his victory in Milton Keynes four weeks ago by taking the £10,000 top prize in Players Championship Nine, continuing the form which has seen him remain top of the Betway Premier League.

Van Gerwen dropped just one leg in his opening two games as he defeated Chris Quantock and Paul Nicholson, before seeing off Wayne Jones 6-4 to reach the last 16.

He then overcame Gary Anderson by the same scoreline as he came from 4-3 down with a stunning run of three legs, before seeing off another former World Champion, Adrian Lewis, in a deciding leg in a superb quarter-final.

The world number one then whitewashed Jan Dekker in the semi-finals, and produced another moment of magic during a brilliant victory in the final.

Two 11-darters from Van Gerwen had shared the opening four legs, with Thornton finishing double 18 and 84 to remain level before double eight moved the Dutchman 3-2 up.

Van Gerwen then scored 180 and 177 to open leg six, before taking out 144 with two further treble 20s and double 12 to complete a perfect leg – his third on the PDC ProTour this year.

Van Gerwen also opened the seventh leg with a maximum before double eight moved him 5-2 up, and a 13-darter ended on tops completed a comprehensive victory, his 50th win on the PDC ProTour.

Live coverage from two streamed boards will be available online for all PDCTV-HD Subscribers worldwide via www.livepdc.tv

Players Championship Nine

Saturday April 29, Robin Park Tennis Centre, Wigan

First Round

Michael van Gerwen (1) 6-0 Chris Quantock
Paul Nicholson 6-2 Richie Burnett
Mark Walsh 6-2 Josh Payne (32)
Wayne Jones 6-3 Ross Smith
Gary Anderson (16) 6-3 John Henderson
William O’Connor 6-3 Jeffrey de Graaf
Cristo Reyes (17) 6-1 Ricky Williams
Robert Owen 6-3 Jermaine Wattimena
Rob Cross 6-5 Kim Huybrechts (8)
Jamie Lewis 6-2 Zoran Lerchbacher
Kevin Painter 6-4 Christian Kist (25)
Jonny Clayton 6-0 Jamie Caven
Gerwyn Price (9) 6-1 Sven Groen
Stephen Burton 6-3 Prakash Jiwa
Adrian Lewis (24) 6-1 Dennis Smith
Simon Preston 6-1 Bryan De Hoog
Dave Chisnall (5) 6-4 Jim Walker
Warrick Scheffer 6-4 Mickey Mansell
Darren Webster (28) 6-0 Lee Bryant
Ron Meulenkamp 6-4 Matthew Dennant
Ian White (12) 6-4 Vincent Kamphuis
Scott Darbyshire 6-3 Shaun Griffiths
Kyle Anderson (21) 6-1 Ricky Evans
Terry Temple 6-2 Jimmy Hendriks
Matt Clark 6-4 Simon Whitlock (4)
Ronnie Baxter 6-2 Steve Hine
Berry van Peer 6-4 Ronny Huybrechts (29)
Joe Murnan 6-5 Mark Webster
Joe Cullen (13) 6-5 Jim Brown
Jan Dekker 6-4 Andy Jenkins
Steve West (20) 6-3 Max Hopp
Peter Hudson 6-3 Devon Petersen
Peter Wright (2) 6-3 Keegan Brown
Paul Rowley 6-4 Brendan Dolan
Ritchie Edhouse 6-3 Vincent van der Voort (31)
Simon Stevenson 6-1 Wes Newton
Daryl Gurney (15) 6-3 John Michael
Ryan Palmer 6-3 Mick McGowan
Alan Tabern 6-1 Stephen Bunting (18)
Mike De Decker 6-0 Brian Woods
James Wade (7) 6-2 Rob Hewson
John Bowles 6-4 Craig Gilchrist
Robert Thornton (26) 6-2 Steve Lennon
Ryan Searle 6-2 Martin Schindler
Jelle Klaasen (12) 6-4 Madars Razma
Andrew Gilding 6-5 Mick Todd
Dirk van Duijvenbode 6-5 James Wilson (23)
Mark Barilli 6-0 Yordi Meeuwisse
Richard North 6-4 Benito van de Pas (6)
Jonathan Worsley 6-3 Jeffrey de Zwaan
Peter Jacques 6-5 Chris Dobey (27)
Andy Hamilton 6-5 Andy Boulton
Ted Evetts 6-3 Alan Norris (11)
Paul Harvey 6-2 Ray Campbell
James Richardson 6-4 Steve Beaton (22)
Aden Kirk 6-4 Tony Newell
Mensur Suljovic (3) 6-5 Adam Hunt
Robbie Green 6-1 Darren Johnson
Justin Pipe (30) 6-3 Jamie Bain
Scott Taylor 6-5 Kirk Shepherd
Michael Smith (14) 6-2 Ryan Meikle
Dimitri Van den Bergh 6-5 David Pallett
Mervyn King (19) 6-2 Harry Robinson
Richie Corner 6-1 Ross Twell

Second Round

Michael van Gerwen 6-1 Paul Nicholson
Wayne Jones 6-2 Mark Walsh
Gary Anderson 6-0 William O’Connor
Cristo Reyes 6-2 Robert Owen
Rob Cross 6-5 Jamie Lewis
Jonny Clayton 6-3 Kevin Painter
Gerwyn Price 6-2 Stephen Burton
Adrian Lewis 6-1 Simon Preston
Dave Chisnall 6-2 Warrick Scheffer
Darren Webster 6-0 Ron Meulenkamp
Ian White 6-1 Scott Darbyshire
Kyle Anderson 6-1 Terry Temple
Matt Clark 6-4 Ronnie Baxter
Joe Murnan 6-3 Berry van Peer
Jan Dekker 6-2 Joe Cullen
Peter Hudson 6-4 Steve West
Paul Rowley 6-4 Peter Wright
Ritchie Edhouse 6-4 Simon Stevenson
Daryl Gurney 6-1 Ryan Palmer
Mike De Decker 6-0 Alan Tabern
John Bowles 6-1 James Wade
Robert Thornton 6-4 Ryan Searle
Andrew Gilding 6-3 Jelle Klaasen
Mark Barilli 6-2 Dirk van Duijvenbode
Jonathan Worsley 6-5 Richard North
Peter Jacques 6-5 Andy Hamilton
Ted Evetts 6-2 Paul Harvey
James Richardson 6-2 Aden Kirk
Robbie Green 6-4 Mensur Suljovic
Justin Pipe 6-3 Scott Taylor
Dimitri Van den Bergh 6-5 Michael Smith
Richie Corner 6-3 Mervyn King

Third Round

Michael van Gerwen 6-4 Wayne Jones
Gary Anderson 6-3 Cristo Reyes
Jonny Clayton 6-5 Rob Cross
Adrian Lewis 6-4 Gerwyn Price
Dave Chisnall 6-4 Darren Webster
Ian White 6-3 Kyle Anderson
Joe Murnan 6-3 Matt Clark
Jan Dekker 6-3 Peter Hudson
Ritchie Edhouse 6-2 Paul Rowley
Mike De Decker 6-4 Daryl Gurney
Robert Thornton 6-4 John Bowles
Andrew Gilding 6-4 Mark Barilli
Jonathan Worsley 6-4 Peter Jacques
Ted Evetts 6-4 James Richardson
Robbie Green 6-1 Justin Pipe
Richie Corner 6-4 Dimitri Van den Bergh
LOSERS £1,000

Fourth Round

Michael van Gerwen 6-4 Gary Anderson
Adrian Lewis 6-3 Jonny Clayton
Dave Chisnall 6-5 Ian White
Jan Dekker 6-1 Joe Murnan
Mike De Decker 6-2 Ritchie Edhouse
Robert Thornton 6-2 Andrew Gilding
Jonathan Worsley 6-1 Ted Evetts
Robbie Green 6-4 Richie Corner
LOSERS £1,500


Michael van Gerwen 6-5 Adrian Lewis
Dave Chisnall 5-6 Jan Dekker
Mike De Decker 4-6 Robert Thornton
Jonathan Worsley 1-6 Robbie Green
LOSES £2,250


Michael van Gerwen 6-0 Jan Dekker
Robert Thornton 6-3 Robbie Green
LOSERS £3,000


Michael van Gerwen 6-2 Robert Thornton ‘9 Darter Michael van Gerwen’  
Winner £10,000
Runner-Up £6,000