Template - Date: HappyBet German Darts Open

PETER WRIGHT clinched a second European Tour title of the year as he beat Benito van de Pas 6-5 in a truly thrilling final of the HappyBet German Darts Open.

Dutchman van de Pas put in the performance of his career, averaging 110.46 as he pushed Wright all the way in a nail-biting finale. But Wright, who proved clinical on the doubles throughout, landed a stunning 121 sucker punch on the bullseye – with van de Pas left on 7 – to secure the £25,000 prize fund.

The final started in routine fashion for “snakebite” as he landed a 116 checkout to move into a 3-1 lead. Van de Pas began to ramp up his scoring power, but still looked to be falling short as Wright moved onto the brink of victory at 5-3.

With defeat staring him the face, a crucial break of throw from van de Pas forced a deciding leg and with the throw, he landed his third 180 and looked favourite for the title. But his finishing evaded him at the crucial time as he missed D7 for the match, allowing Wright to step in and land that incredible 121 to snatch the victory.

When asked about clinching his sixth PDC title of the year, Wright joked: “I have just started… Perhaps I will start sticking to just one set of darts” Despite tasting defeat, it was a superb run for van de Pas as he made his first final on the European Tour.

Wright started the day with a narrow 6-5 victory over Spain’s Cristo Reyes, but looked in superb form as he averaged 104 in his 6-2 quarter-final victory over Gerwyn Price. Standing in his way of the final was Jelle Klaasen – who reached the final two at the German Darts Masters in Jena a week previous. Wright upped his game once more, and a 105 average with yet more clinical finishing (66.67%) saw him breeze into the final by the same score line.

Van de Pas started his run to the final two with a narrow 6-5 victory over a resilient Joe Cullen in the Third Round. A convincing quarter-final win over the in-form debutant Rob Cross was next, as he averaged 103 in a 6-2 victory over the 26-year-old.

Ian White was the final hurdle between him and a place in the final, but he proved no match for the Dutchman as he raced into a 5-2 lead before comfortably making the final. Earlier in the day, White caused the shock of the competition as he thrashed Michael van Gerwen 6-1 to reach the semi-finals.

In an uncharacteristic performance from the World Champion, he landed just 11% of his double attempts with White proving far more clinical. The Stoke-based slinger averaged a superb 104 and took out a match high 107 checkout as he charged to a shock victory and a place in the final four.

Austria’s Mensur Suljovic was the last player to make the quarter-finals, as he whitewashed Stephen Bunting 6-0 before losing out to Klaasen. The European Tour will continue on May 5-7 with the HappyBet European Darts Grand Prix in Sindelfingen, with Van Gerwen looking to retain his title.

HappyBet German Darts Open
Draw Bracket

Michael van Gerwen (1) v Adam Hunt
Ian White (8) v Mervyn King
Simon Whitlock (5) v Rob Cross
Benito van de Pas (4) v Joe Cullen (13)
Peter Wright (2) v Cristo Reyes (15)
Dimitri Van den Bergh v Gerwyn Price (10)
Dave Chisnall (6) v Jelle Klaasen (11)
Mensur Suljovic (3) v Stephen Bunting (14)

Schedule of Play
Friday April 21

First Round
Afternoon Session (1pm-5pm local time, 12pm-4pm BST)
82.06 Marko Kantele 3-6 Warrick Scheffer 86.60
88.06 Peter Jacques 3-6 Darren Webster 97.15
84.71 Jamie Bain 3-6 Krzysztof Ratajski 86.03
82.93 Stephen Lennon 4-6 Christian Kist 84.22
95.01 Mark Walsh 6-5 Jimmy Hendriks 90.45
87.66 Rene Berndt 3-6 Adam Hunt 93.04
83.20 John Henderson 3-6 James Richardson 83.90
79.16 Bernd Roith 6-5 Brian Woods 71.98

Evening Session (7pm-11pm local time, 6pm-10pm BST)
94.27 Nathan Aspinall 6-3 Robert Thornton 89.04
91.09 Dimitri Van Den Bergh 6-0 Andy Hamilton 86.69
97.16 Mervyn King 6-5 Robbie Green 94.24
92.68 Paul Nicholson 6-1 Martin Schindler 79.65
80.83 Jeffrey de Graaf 1-6 Rob Cross 95.54
89.98 Dirk van Duijvenbode 5-6 Vincent van der Voort 85.60
85.49 Nico Blum 6-4 Josh Payne 86.19
85.12 Zoran Lerchbacher 0-6 Ronny Huybrechts 88.41

Saturday April 22
Second Round
Afternoon Session (1pm-5pm local time, 12pm-4pm BST)
95.54 Stephen Bunting 6-1 Bernd Roith 89.28
103.15 Ian White 6-3 Warrick Scheffer 96.22
86.84 Gerwyn Price 6-5 James Richardson 89.57
90.12 Steve West 4-6 Adam Hunt 87.30
95.04 Kim Huybrechts 3-6 Mervyn King 97.42
87.88 Michael Smith 2-6 Rob Cross 90.18
78.79 Alan Norris 2-6 Dimitri Van Den Bergh 85.19
96.53 Simon Whitlock 6-3 Darren Webster 94.62

Evening Session (7pm-11pm local time, 6pm-10pm BST)
97.24 Cristo Reyes 6-1 Nico Blum 87.96
98.72 Joe Cullen 6-4 Vincent van der Voort 93.73
87.16 Benito van de Pas 6-3 Paul Nicholson 86.92
102.48 Michael van Gerwen 6-3 Ronny Huybrechts 100.62
98.90 Mensur Suljovic 6-2 Mark Walsh 91.96
101.10 Peter Wright 6-1 Krzysztof Ratajski 87.12
94.93 Jelle Klaasen 6-0 Christian Kist 81.83
104.86 Dave Chisnall 6-0 Nathan Aspinall 89.00

Sunday April 23
Afternoon Session (1pm-5pm local time, 12pm-4pm BST)

101.31 Michael van Gerwen 6-2 Adam Hunt 90.40
106.55 Ian White 6-4 Mervyn King 99.11
99.22 Simon Whitlock 3-6 Rob Cross 101.34
94.44 Benito van de Pas 6-5 Joe Cullen 91.66
96.58 Peter Wright 6-5 Cristo Reyes 95.96
88.14 Dimitri Van den Bergh 4-6 Gerwyn Price 93.88
93.89 Dave Chisnall 3-6 Jelle Klaasen 92.17
103.66 Mensur Suljovic 6-0 Stephen Bunting 91.63

Evening Session (7pm-11pm local time, 6pm-10pm BST)
97.47 Michael van Gerwen 1-6 Ian White 104.01
89.97 Rob Cross 2-6 Benito van de Pas 103.79
104.21 Peter Wright 6-2 Gerwyn Price 96.16
89.90 Jelle Klaasen 6-3 Mensur Suljovic 87.69

95.13 Ian White 3-6 Benito van de Pas 100.18
105.74 Peter Wright 6-2 Jelle Klaasen 96.17

110.46 Benito van de Pas 5-6 Peter Wright 97.49