Template - Date: Players Championship 5

ADRIAN LEWIS clinched his first ProTour title of the year as he produced a superb display to beat Dave Chisnall 6-2 and win Players Championship Five at Arena MK in Milton Keynes.

Lewis kicked off the final with some audacious darts and landed a breathtaking 164 checkout to storm into a 2-0 lead. He then moved three ahead before Chisnall got a foothold in the game. Desite a spirited response, St. Helens star Chisnall was rarely in the final as the two-time World Champion produced some of his strongest darts.

A neat 122 checkout from Chisnall gave him a chink of light but he proved no match for the scoring power of his Stoke counterpart. In the final leg, Lewis fired eight perfect darts before missing D12 to clinch the tournament in the most perfect manner. He eventually cleaned up on D1 to secure the £10,000 prizefund.

Lewis’ best performance of the day came in a stunning 6-5 Semi-Final victory over Michael van Gerwen, a game which saw an incredible 13 180s and another miss at D12 for a nine-darter – this time from Van Gerwen. He kicked off the day with a narrow 6-5 victory over Benito van de Pas, before beating Andy Hamilton and Justin Pipe. A 6-3 victory over Peter Jacques ensued, before another last-leg victory over Richard North – who was enjoying one of his best runs on the PDC ProTour.

Chisnall’s run to the final saw him narrowly edge past Ritchie Edhouse 6-5 in the opening round, before seeing off Andy Jenkins and John Henderson to reach the Last 16.
There he beat Micky Mansell before whitewashing Mark Webster to reach the final four. A dominant 6-3 victory over Alan Norris meant Chisnall booked his place in his second ProTour final in six attempts, having lost out in Players Championship 20 in 2016.

It was another strong run for van Gerwen on the floor, but his wait for a Players Championship title in 2017 goes on, having now fallen at the Semi-Final stage on two occasions. Norris’ strong form continued. Having clinched Players Championship One in Barnsley, he also made the Semi-Finals at the Coral UK Open before his run to the last four in Milton Keynes.

He edged out Rowby-John Rodriguez in his opening game, before making light work of Ronnie Baxter and Adam Hunt as he reached the Last 16. Victories over Gerwyn Price and Steve Beaton followed, before losing out to Chisnall at the penultimate hurdle. The PDC ProTour continues on Sunday, with another £75,000 prizefund up for grabs as Players Championship Six gets underway at Arena MK.

The tournament is being streamed live online with action from two boards simultaneously available for PDCTV-HD Subscribers worldwide through www.livepdc.tv as well as through a series of bookmakers’ websites.

PDC Players Championship 5

Saturday 1st April 2017

First Round

Michael van Gerwen 6-3 Sven Groen
Vincent van der Voort 6-2 Haruki Muramatsu
Brendan Dolan 6-3 Jamie Caven
Simon Stevenson 6-1 Craig Gilchrist
Cristo Reyes 6-1 Darron Brown
Mick Todd 6-4 Martin Schindler
Steve Hine 6-1 Steve West
Aden Kirk 6-4 Ryan Palmer
Ian White 6-5 Ryan Searle
Matthew Dennant 6-1 Dennis Smith
Robbie Green 6-3 Richie Corner
Jamie Bain 6-4 Berry van Peer
Kim Huybrechts 6-5 Kirk Shepherd
Rob Cross 6-2 Lee Bryant
Christian Kist 6-2 Paul Harvey
Scott Taylor 6-4 Jamie Lewis
Dirk van Duijvenbode 6-4 Simon Whitlock
Richard North 6-3 Harry Robinson
Josh Payne 6-2 Jeffrey de Zwaan
Jimmy Hendriks 6-4 Mick McGowan
Shaun Griffiths 6-5 Michael Smith
Dimitri van den Bergh 6-4 Jonny Clayton
Kyle Anderson 6-5 Warrick Scheffer
Kevin Painter 6-5 Stephen Burton
Adrian Lewis 6-5 Benito van de Pas
Andy Hamilton 6-4 Terry Roach
Justin Pipe 6-2 Maik Langendorf
Joe Murnan 6-1 Ross Twell
Gary Anderson 6-1 Ray Campbell
Peter Hudson 6-4 Max Hopp
Daryl Gurney 6-2 Mark Barilli
Peter Jacques 6-1 Paul Nicholson
Peter Wright 6-1 Mike De Decker
Wayne Jones 6-3 Diogo Portela
Steve Lennon 6-5 Raymond van Barneveld
Terry Temple 6-1 Paul Rowley
Stephen Bunting 6-2 Simon Preston
John Bowles 6-2 Devon Petersen
Steve Beaton 6-2 Zoran Lerchbacher
John Part 6-4 Ricky Williams
Alan Norris 6-5 Rowby-John Rodriguez
Ronnie Baxter 6-5 Ted Evetts
Ronny Huybrechts 6-3 Chris Quantock
Adam Hunt 6-5 Darren Johnson
Gerwyn Price 6-2 Madars Razma
Yordi Meeuwisse 6-3 Tony Newell
Chris Dobey 6-3 James Richardson
Ricky Evans 6-2 Colin Roelofs
Dave Chisnall 6-5 Ritchie Edhouse
Andy Jenkins 6-1 Jim Brown
Darren Webster 6-2 William O’Connor
John Henderson 6-5 Jeffrey de Graaf
Richie Burnett 6-0 Jelle Klaasen
Keegan Brown 6-2 Ryan Meikle
James Wilson 6-3 Ron Meulenkamp
Mickey Mansell 6-1 David Pallett
Jan Dekker 6-3 Mensur Suljovic
Jonathan Worsley 6-1 Brian Woods
Robert Thornton 6-4 Prakash Jiwa
Mark Webster 6-2 Robert Owen
Andrew Gilding 6-5 Joe Cullen
Vincent Kamphuis 6-5 Andy Boulton
Wes Newton 6-3 Mervyn King
Antonio Alcinas 5-6 Matt Clark

Second Round

Michael van Gerwen 6-3 Vincent van der Voort
Brendan Dolan 2-6 Simon Stevenson
Cristo Reyes 6-3 Mick Todd
Steve Hine 6-4 Aden Kirk
Ian White 6-2 Matthew Dennant
Robbie Green 1-6 Jamie Bain
Rob Cross 6-4 Kim Huybrechts
Christian Kist 0-6 Scott Taylor
Dirk van Duijvenbode 4-6 Richard North
Josh Payne 3-6 Jimmy Hendriks
Shaun Griffiths 1-6 Dimtiri van den Bergh
Kyle Anderson 6-5 Kevin Painter
Adrian Lewis 6-2 Andy Hamilton
Justin Pipe 6-3 Joe Murnan
Peter Hudson 6-3 Gary Anderson
Daryl Gurney 1-6 Peter Jacques
Peter Wright 6-1 Wayne Jones
Steve Lennon 6-3 Terry Temple
Stephen Bunting 6-1 John Bowles
Steve Beaton 6-0 John Part
Alan Norris 6-1 Ronnie Baxter
Ronny Huybrechts 2-6 Adam Hunt
Gerwyn Price 6-5 Yordi Meeuwisse
Chris Dobey 4-6 Ricky Evans
Dave Chisnall 6-3 Andy Jenkins
Darren Webster 1-6 John Henderson
Keegan Brown 6-5 Richie Burnett
James Wilson 4-6 Mickey Mansell
Jan Dekker 6-0 Jonathan Worsley
Robert Thornton 1-6 Mark Webster
Andrew Gilding 6-2 Vincent Kamphuis
Wes Newton 3-6 Matt Clark

Third Round

Michael van Gerwen 6-3 Simon Stevenson
Cristo Reyes 6-5 Steve Hine
Ian White 6-5 Jamie Bain
Rob Cross 6-2 Scott Taylor
Richard North 6-1 Jimmy Hendriks
Dimitri van den Bergh 6-4 Kyle Anderson
Adrian Lewis 6-5 Justin Pipe
Peter Hudson 5-6 Peter Jacques
Peter Wright 6-2 Steve Lennon
Stephen Bunting 5-6 Steve Beaton
Alan Norris 6-2 Adam Hunt
Gerwyn Price 6-2 Ricky Evans
Dave Chisnall 6-3 John Henderson
Keegan Brown 2-6 Mickey Mansell
Jan Dekker 2-6 Mark Webster
Andrew Gilding 1-6 Matt Clark
LOSERS £1,000

Fourth Round

Michael van Gerwen 6-1 Cristo Reyes
Ian White 6-3 Rob Cross
Richard North 6-4 Dimitri van den Bergh
Adrian Lewis 6-3 Peter Jacques
Steve Beaton 6-4 Peter Wright
Alan Norris 6-2 Gerwyn Price
Dave Chisnall 6-2 Mickey Mansell
Mark Webster 6-2 Matt Clark
LOSERS £1,500


Michael van Gerwen 6-1 Ian White
Richard North 5-6 Adrian Lewis
Steve Beaton 5-6 Alan Norris
Dave Chisnall 6-0 Mark Webster
LOSERS £2,250


Michael van Gerwen 5-6 Adrian Lewis
Alan Norris 3-6 Dave Chisnall
LOSERS £3,000


Adrian Lewis 6-3 Dave Chisnall
WINNER £10,000
RUNNER-UP £6,000