Template - Date: Betway Premier League – Nottingham

MICHAEL VAN GERWEN bounced back to winning ways in the Betway Premier League with a 170 finish as he thumped Peter Wright 7-3 in Nottingham on Thursday, as Gary Anderson, Phil Taylor, James Wade and Raymond van Barneveld remained unbeaten.

Reigning Premier League champion Van Gerwen had drawn with Anderson on the opening night in Newcastle a week ago to see his winning run on TV – which stretches back to last October – ended. However, the world number one showed his class with a brilliant response in front of 7,000 fans at the Motorpoint Arena, coming agonisingly close to only the eighth whitewash in Premier League history.

Despite Wright starting their match with a 180, four missed doubles allowed Van Gerwen in to win the opening leg before the Dutchman finished an 11-darter in leg two and a stunning 170 checkout in the fourth. He also took the next two to lead 6-0 before seeing three darts to secure a whitewash victory miss their intended target, as Wright finished 64 for his first leg and also took the next two to threaten an unlikely fightback.

Van Gerwen, though, was in no mood to allow Wright to claim a draw, landing two 180s in the tenth leg before sealing victory with a 14-dart finish, ending the contest with a 105.21 average.

World number two Anderson also picked up his first win of the season to move onto three points in the league table, powering past Jelle Klaasen with a 7-3 win. Klaasen opened with a 180 and took out 80 for the opening leg, but Anderson’s 119 checkout levelled before he pulled clear to lead 3-1 and 6-2.

A 122 finish saw Klaasen hit back, but he missed his chance to stay in the game in the tenth leg as the two-time Premier League champion returned on double two to seal the win.”I played well against Michael last week but I didn’t think it was as good tonight, so it’s nice to get the two points and I’ll take that,” said Anderson. “It’s going alright so far but it’s always hard and every point is important.”

Phil Taylor and James Wade battled out an entertaining draw in a game which featured four ton-plus finishes and a quartet of 180s from the 2009 champion as both players remained unbeaten. An early 121 finish from Wade moved him into a 2-0 lead before Taylor matched the checkout to respond and then took out 104 to level at three-all.

Wade followed two maximums with tops finishes as he led 4-3 and 5-4, only for Taylor to level in leg ten with double 19 and then fire in a sensational 142 combination to lead 6-5. Wade, though, would not be denied as he took out 56 on tops in the decider to claim his share of the points.

“I’m happy with the point,” said Taylor, a six-time Premier League winner. “It’s a shame that I didn’t win but the result was fair and it was about even. “I thought I’d got him when the 142 went in, but James hit the right shot at the right time in the last leg. He hit a few 180s and he pulled it out at the end, but I’m enjoying it.”

2014 Premier League champion Van Barneveld became a fifth player to move onto three points as he followed up his opening-night win with a draw against Kim Huybrechts, who claimed his first point of the season. A see-saw game saw Huybrechts’ early 3-1 lead wiped out as Van Barneveld moved 4-3 up, with the Belgian then taking out 79 to move back in front and double four to claim a point at 6-5.

Van Barneveld, though, showed his quality with a seventh 180 of the contest in the deciding leg before finishing 80 to share the spoils. “Both of us could have won it and both of us maybe think we should have won it,” said Huybrechts. “I think we’re both happy with that. “It could have been more points but it could have been less as well because Barney had a couple of darts to go 5-3 up, so at the end I think a draw is maybe fair.”

Adrian Lewis claimed his first victory of the season as he swept past Dave Chisnall 7-2, leaving the St Helens ace without a point following two weeks. Finishes of 81 and 76 helped Lewis into an early 3-1 lead before he took out a brilliant 160 checkout to move five legs clear, and he then took out 86 to complete a big win.

“It was quite a big two points and you need all the points you can get in this league,” said Lewis. “Last week I missed three darts to get a draw with Barney and I didn’t take my chance, but tonight I put it right. “I wasn’t too happy with my performance and I’d rather play well and win, but I got the job done. The crowd have paid their money and want to see good darts, and when I don’t perform to my capabilities I’m just as upset as them.”

The Betway Premier League continues on Thursday February 16 at the First Direct Arena in Leeds, with the five matches including the eagerly-awaited clash between Taylor and Van Barneveld. The night also features the clash between Scottish duo Anderson and Wright, the all-Dutch battle between Van Gerwen and Klaasen, the meeting between Lewis and Wade and Chisnall’s clash with Huybrechts.

For the full Betway Premier League fixtures/results & table CLICK HERE

Night Two – Thursday February 9th

Motorpoint Arena, Nottingham

94.40 Adrian Lewis 7-2 Dave Chisnall 90.48
98.88 James Wade 6-6 Phil Taylor 92.07
97.41 Jelle Klaasen 3-7 Gary Anderson 100.04
89.83 Peter Wright 3-7 Michael van Gerwen 105.21
96.99 Kim Huybrechts 6-6 Raymond van Barneveld 93.91

Template - Date: Rileys Amateur Qualifiers UK Open

The final 5 venues for the Rileys Amateur Qualifiers for the Coral UK Open Finals are over this weekend to give us the final 5 players which will conclude the qualifiers and produce the 32 players.


On Friday 10th Nottingham is the venue with 4 venues on Saturday 11th in Greenock, Liverpool, Solihull and Twickenham.

Full List & current qualifiers below

Friday January 20th
London Victoria (Two Players Qualify) – Lee Evans, Dan Read

Saturday January 21st
Chester – Steve Maish
Sheffield – Dave Prins
Twickenham – Gary Eastwood
Wolverhampton (Two Players Qualify) – Gareth Pass, Neil Smith

Saturday January 28th
Coventry – Ben Green
Greenock – Wayne Morris
Harlow – Alex Roy
Liverpool – James Carroll
Norwich – Kevin Edwards
Nottingham – Nicky Bell

Sunday January 29th
Leicester – Brandon Walsh
South Benfleet – Paul Hogan

Friday February 3rd
Aberdeen – Scott Robertson

Saturday February 4th
Chester – Jimmy McKirdy
Chorlton – Paul Cartwright
Norwich – Paul Barham
Sheffield – Brian Dawson
Wolverhampton (Two Players Qualify) – Johnny Haines & Andy Roberts

Sunday February 5th
Coventry – Martin Biggs
London Victoria (Two Players Qualify) – Dave Parletti & Darryl Pilgrim
South Benfleet – John Ferrell
Worcester – Mark Layton

Friday February 10th

Saturday February 11th
Twickenham ** Moved from original date of Saturday February 4th

The draw for the Coral UK Open Finals will take place on Sunday evening and will be posted online.