Template - Date: European Darts Open 2016

MICHAEL VAN GERWEN secured a 12th career European Tour title and fourth of the calendar year, beating Peter Wright 6-5 in a superb final of the HappyBet European Darts Open in Dusseldorf, Germany.

The world number one finished a day that included two missed attempts at double 12 for nine-dart finishes in style, as he beat Wright with an average of 104.06. The number one seed marched in to a 3-1 lead before missing two darts to go within two of victory.

Wright, who averaged over 100 himself levelled the score at 3-3 before van Gerwen pounced to hold and then break again. The Scot showed real strength though as he broke the van Gerwen throw and took the match in to a deciding leg.

A 140 and a 180, followed by a 98 checkout secured the title for the world number one who was delighted with the result: “You always have to play well against Peter.” Said the 27 year-old. “I’m trying my best, this is fantastic as it is one of my favourite venues on the European Tour.”

Van Gerwen began the day with a 6-2 victory over Australia’s Kyle Anderson. The 2016 Matchplay champion was ruthless in victory, which included a delightful 131 checkout hitting double tops with his last two darts of that leg.

He then went on to beat Jelle Klaasen (6-4) and Kim Huybrechts (6-3), who had beaten World Champion Gary Anderson earlier in the evening, with the number one seed coming agonisingly close to a nine-darter in both matches.

Van Gerwen’s opponent in the final, Peter Wright was arguably more impressive on his way to meeting the the Dutchman. The Scot first knocked out Daryl Gurney, beating him 6-2 before going on to hand Mensur Suljovic a devastating 6-0 whitewash.

Wright’s semi-final opponent was Stephen Bunting who had reached his first ever European Tour semi-final, beating Michael Smith and Terry Jenkins on his way to the last four. The world number five was too strong for Bunting though, securing a 6-4 victory with an average of over 100.


HappyBet European Darts Open

Sunday July 31st
Afternoon Session

Last 16
93.61 Michael Smith 3-6 Stephen Bunting 95.98
97.89 Ian White 5-6 Terry Jenkins 92.06
96.20 Daryl Gurney 3-6 Mensur Suljovic 93.53
103.25 Peter Wright 6-2 Gerwyn Price 88.57
94.37 Jan Dekker 0-6 Gary Anderson 104.86
104.32 Kim Huybrechts 6-3 Wes Newton 93.89
91.29 Jelle Klaasen 6-3 James Wade 96.40
99.38 Michael van Gerwen 6-2 Kyle Anderson 91.72

Evening Session

88.42 Stephen Bunting 6-4 Terry Jenkins 92.88
94.68 Mensur Suljovic 0-6 Peter Wright 100.20
85.49 Gary Anderson 4-6 Kim Huybrechts 91.48
93.33 Jelle Klaasen 4-6 Michael van Gerwen 102.95

93.06 Stephen Bunting 4-6 Peter Wright 100.34
94.85 Kim Huybrechts 3-6 Michael van Gerwen 103.63

100.44 Peter Wright 5-6 Michael van Gerwen 104.06