Template - Date: Players Championship 11

IAN WHITE won his second Players Championship title of 2016 with a 6-3 victory over Joe Cullen in Sunday’s final at the Barnsley Metrodome, as Robbie Green snatched qualification for the BetVictor World Matchplay.

White followed up April’s superb whitewash of Michael van Gerwen in the final in Barnsley by picking up his sixth PDC ranking title to complete the PDC ProTour weekend. The Stoke ace had been a first round casualty in Saturday’s Players Championship Ten, but bounced back in style to go all the way to the £10,000 first prize 24 hours later.

White saw off Steve McNally, Jeffrey de Zwaan and Jason Marriott for the loss of only four legs in the early rounds before a 6-3 defeat of Northern Ireland’s Daryl Gurney moved him into the last eight. He then defeated Belgian brothers Ronny and Kim Huybrechts in successive matches at the quarter-final and semi-final stage, before overcoming Cullen 6-3 in the decider, taking control with an early 3-1 lead and extending the advantage to 5-2 before closing out the win.

Cullen’s run to the final continued his impressive year, but after also being the Players Championship Nine runner-up in May the Yorkshireman was again left waiting for his first senior ranking title. Cullen enjoyed wins over James Wilson, Lee Evans, Mark Webster, Nathan Aspinall, Joe Murnan and Cristo Reyes on his way to the final, and picked up £6,000 in prize money in the process.

Kim Huybrechts was a semi-finalist for a second successive day as he claimed a further £3,000 in prize money for his good weekend’s work in Barnsley. Reyes had threatened to snatch qualification for the BetVictor World Matchplay as he overcame fellow Spaniard Antonio Alcinas, Mark Frost, Benito van de Pas, Vincent van der Voort and Mensur Suljovic in reaching the semi-finals – but he crucially lost one game short of the final he needed to win a Blackpool spot.

There was, though, joy for Green as he edged Rowby-John Rodriguez out of the qualifying places with his run to the last eight. Rodriguez was a first round casualty against Yordi Meeuwisse, picking up no prize money as a consequence, and Green capitalised with wins over Scott Dale, Ryan Meikle, Jermaine Wattimena and Peter Hudson to claim a quarter-final spot and £2,250 in prize money.

Austria’s Mensur Suljovic joined Green, Murnan and Ronny Huybrechts in the quarter-finals, while Saturday’s beaten finalist Steve Beaton was amongst the losers at the last 16 stage. Following Sunday’s Players Championship 11, the top 16 players from the PDC Order of Merit qualify by right for the BetVictor World Matchplay and are joined by 16 qualifiers from the One-Year ProTour Order of Merit.

The BetVictor World Matchplay will take place from July 16-24 at the Winter Gardens in Blackpool. The draw will be made on Thursday July 7 around 9.45am on Sky Sports News. Jyhan Artut and Terry Temple withdrew from Sunday’s event, with the two highest seeds receiving a first round bye.

Players Championship 11 – Sunday July 3, Barnsley Metrodome

First Round
Kim Huybrechts (1) Bye
Dirk van Duijvenbode 6-3 Ray Campbell
Mark Barilli 6-3 Devon Petersen
Tony Newell 6-4 James Richardson
Steve Beaton (16) 6-0 Kevin Thomas
Jonathan Worsley 6-2 Jim Walker
Justin Pipe (17) 6-3 Michael Power
Curtis Hammond 6-2 Jeffrey de Graaf
Jermaine Wattimena 6-3 Gerwyn Price (8)
Vincent Kamphuis 6-4 Simon Preston
Robbie Green (25) 6-3 Scott Dale
Ryan Meikle 6-1 Prakash Jiwa
Harry Robinson 6-4 Terry Jenkins (9)
Mike Zuydwijk 6-4 Ricky Evans
Brendan Dolan (24) 6-5 Stuart Kellett
Peter Hudson 6-5 Darren Webster
Paul Milford 6-3 Jelle Klaasen (5)
Ronny Huybrechts 6-3 Keegan Brown
Jamie Lewis (28) 6-3 Jonny Clayton
Andy Smith 6-5 Ron Meulenkamp
Berry van Peer 6-5 Simon Whitlock (12)
Johnny Haines 6-1 Andy Boulton
Josh Payne (21) 6-2 Mike De Decker
Stephen Willard 6-3 Shaun Griffiths
Ian White (4) 6-2 Steve McNally
Jeffrey de Zwaan 6-5 Matthew Edgar
Kevin Painter (29) 6-5 Aden Kirk
Jason Marriott 6-5 Mark Walsh
Daryl Gurney (13) 6-1 Christian Kist
Ryan Palmer 6-5 Jerry Hendriks
Jamie Caven (20) 6-2 Michael Barnard
Dimitri Van den Bergh 6-5 William O’Connor
Michael Smith (2) Bye
Nathan Aspinall 6-2 Steve Brown
Alan Tabern 6-5 John Henderson (31)
Wes Newton 6-3 Andy Parsons
Joe Cullen (15) 6-3 James Wilson
Lee Evans 6-5 John Bowles
Mark Webster (18) 6-0 Ronnie Baxter
Jan Dekker 6-4 Mick McGowan
Jason Wilson 6-4 Robert Thornton (7)
Ted Evetts 6-3 Simon Stevenson
Darren Johnson 6-2 Andrew Gilding (26)
Dennis Smith 6-3 Dave Ladley
Alan Norris (10) 6-3 Chris Dobey
Joe Murnan 6-3 Ross Smith
Yordi Meeuwisse 6-1 Rowby-John Rodriguez (23)
Kevin Dowling 6-0 Ricky Williams
Mensur Suljovic (6) 6-0 David Pallett
Steve Hine 6-5 Brett Claydon
Brian Woods 6-4 Max Hopp (27)
Mickey Mansell 6-3 Robert Owen
Stephen Bunting (11) 6-5 Wayne Jones
Andy Hamilton 6-0 Jamie Robinson
Kyle Anderson (22) 6-4 Jason Lovett
Nigel Heydon 6-5 Darron Brown
Benito van de Pas (3) 6-1 Nathan Derry
Andy Jenkins 6-1 Matt Clark
Cristo Reyes (30) 6-0 Antonio Alcinas
Mark Frost 6-2 Nigel Daniels
Mervyn King (14) 6-1 Dean Winstanley
Steve West 6-2 Matthew Dennant
Vincent van der Voort (19) 6-5 Magnus Caris
Mick Todd 6-5 John Michael

Second Round
Kim Huybrechts 6-5 Dirk van Duijvenbode
Tony Newell 6-3 Mark Barilli
Steve Beaton 6-2 Jonathan Worsley
Curtis Hammond 6-3 Justin Pipe
Jermaine Wattimena 6-4 Vincent Kamphuis
Robbie Green 6-4 Ryan Meikle
Mike Zuydwijk 6-1 Harry Robinson
Peter Hudson 6-3 Brendan Dolan
Ronny Huybrechts 6-2 Paul Milford
Jamie Lewis 6-1 Andy Smith
Berry van Peer 6-5 Johnny Haines
Stephen Willard 6-3 Josh Payne
Ian White 6-0 Jeffrey de Zwaan
Jason Marriott 6-1 Kevin Painter
Daryl Gurney 6-3 Ryan Palmer
Jamie Caven 6-2 Dimitri Van den Bergh
Nathan Aspinall 6-5 Michael Smith
Alan Tabern 6-5 Wes Newton
Joe Cullen 6-1 Lee Evans
Mark Webster 6-2 Jan Dekker
Jason Wilson 6-1 Ted Evetts
Dennis Smith 6-3 Darren Johnson
Joe Murnan 6-5 Alan Norris
Kevin Dowling 6-2 Yordi Meeuwisse
Mensur Suljovic 6-1 Steve Hine
Mickey Mansell 6-5 Brian Woods
Stephen Bunting 6-5 Andy Hamilton
Kyle Anderson 6-5 Nigel Heydon
Benito van de Pas 6-3 Andy Jenkins
Cristo Reyes 6-5 Mark Frost
Mervyn King 6-2 Steve West
Vincent van der Voort 6-3 Mick Todd
Losers £500 

Third Round
Kim Huybrechts 6-3 Tony Newell
Steve Beaton 6-1 Curtis Hammond
Robbie Green 6-5 Jermaine Wattimena
Peter Hudson 6-4 Mike Zuydwijk
Ronny Huybrechts 6-3 Jamie Lewis
Stephen Willard 6-4 Berry van Peer
Ian White 6-2 Jason Marriott
Daryl Gurney 6-0 Jamie Caven
Nathan Aspinall 6-4 Alan Tabern
Joe Cullen 6-3 Mark Webster
Jason Wilson 6-4 Dennis Smith
Joe Murnan 6-3 Kevin Dowling
Mensur Suljovic 6-2 Mickey Mansell
Stephen Bunting 6-1 Kyle Anderson
Cristo Reyes 6-5 Benito van de Pas
Vincent van der Voort 6-5 Mervyn King
Losers £1,000

Fourth Round
Kim Huybrechts 6-3 Steve Beaton
Robbie Green 6-2 Peter Hudson
Ronny Huybrechts 6-3 Stephen Willard
Ian White 6-3 Daryl Gurney
Nathan Aspinall 3-6 Joe Cullen
Jason Wilson 4-6 Joe Murnan
Mensur Suljovic 6-3 Stephen Bunting
Cristo Reyes 6-1 Vincent van der Voort
Losers £1,500

Kim Huybrechts 6-5 Robbie Green
Ronny Huybrechts 1-6 Ian White
Joe Cullen 6-5 Joe Murnan
Mensur Suljovic 2-6 Cristo Reyes
Losers £2,250

Kim Huybrechts 3-6 Ian White
Joe Cullen 6-4 Cristo Reyes
Losers £3,000

Ian White 6-3 Joe Cullen
Winner £10,000
Runner Up £6,000