Template - Date: Gibraltar Darts Trophy – European Tour 3

Imperious Michael van Gerwen took victory in the Peperami Gibraltar Darts Trophy on Sunday, defeating Dave Chisnall 6-2 in the final to retain the title on ‘The Rock’ and win his third successive PDC European Tour event of 2016.

The world number one has been unstoppable on the European Tour this year, and followed up his victories in the Dutch Darts Masters and German Darts Masters by taking the title in Gibraltar. However, van Gerwen would not have it all his own way on the final day, as he followed up his third round win over Mervyn King in the afternoon session with a nervy, narrow quarter-final victory over Gibraltar’s Dyson Parody.

Parody landed seven 180s in a thrilling display as he became the first Gibraltarian in the last eight of a PDC European Tour event, but the home favourite crucially missed three match darts before van Gerwen prevailed in a decider. Following that scare, van Gerwen was clinical as he restricted Kim Huybrechts to just two darts at doubles in a ruthless 6-0 semi-final victory, averaging 109.92 in the process, before powering past Chisnall in the decider.

Chisnall kicked off the final with a 180, but had to come from two legs down – after van Gerwen took out 82 and 107 – to level by checking out a 13-dart finish and 124 on the bull to level. Van Gerwen, though, kicked off leg five with two 180s as he regained the lead with an 11-darter, before finishing 106 and 124 in successive legs to lead 5-2, and a fourth straight leg sealed the £25,000 top prize.

Chisnall also stared defeat in the face in a tight quarter-final as he survived three missed match darts from Mensur Suljovic before matching van Gerwen with a brilliant 6-0 semi-final win over Ian White. However, the St Helens ace was forced to settle for the £10,000 runner-up prize as he missed out on a second European Tour title in his fifth final.

Huybrechts edged out World Champion Gary Anderson 6-5 in the quarter-finals as all four games at the last eight stage went the distance, with the other contest seeing White survive a missed match dart from Peter Wright – for a 6-4 victory before he prevailed.

The PDC European Tour continues next weekend with the HappyBet European Darts Matchplay taking place in Hamburg, where the Inselparkhalle will host the sport’s top names from May 13-15. A limited number of tickets for the opening day on Friday May 13 are available via www.pdc-europe.tv.

The HappyBet European Darts Matchplay will be streamed through www.LIVEPDC.TV and live through a series of bookmakers’ websites. The schedule of play and draw will be available on Thursday May 12 at www.pdc.tv.



Peperami Gibraltar Darts Trophy

Sunday May 8th
Afternoon Session (1pm-5pm local time, 12pm-4pm BST)
Third Round

105.73 Michael van Gerwen 6-3 Mervyn King 101.01
87.33 Max Hopp 4-6 Dyson Parody 87.43
97.05 Kim Huybrechts 6-2 Benito van de Pas 94.97
100.78 James Wade 2-6 Gary Anderson 104.73
86.70 Peter Wright 6-2 Simon Whitlock 88.84
107.33 Ian White 6-2 Joe Murnan 92.20
110.58 Dave Chisnall 6-5 Robert Thornton 102.54
104.85 Michael Smith 3-6 Mensur Suljovic 101.59

Evening Session (7pm-11pm local time, 6pm-10pm BST)
100.04 Michael van Gerwen 6-5 Dyson Parody 96.52
85.53 Kim Huybrechts 6-5 Gary Anderson 87.57
91.96 Peter Wright 5-6 Ian White 93.53
108.47 Dave Chisnall 6-5 Mensur Suljovic 97.97

109.98 Michael van Gerwen 6-0 Kim Huybrechts 104.16
85.52 Ian White 0-6 Dave Chisnall 100.20

103.89 Michael van Gerwen 6-2 Dave Chisnall 103.19

Gibraltar_vanGerwen copy

Peperami Gibraltar Darts Trophy

Friday May 6th

Afternoon Session (1pm-5pm local time, 12pm-4pm BST)
Preliminary Round
86.95 Ross Smith 2-6 Joe Murnan 86.51
88.92 Michael Rasztovits 6-4 Steve Beaton 85.66
83.60 Nick Fullwell 6-2 Antony Lopez 85.85
96.97 Justin Pipe 6-0 Jamie Lewis 82.33
89.76 Antonio Alcinas 6-1 Stuart Kellett 90.22
77.70 John Henderson 6-5 Wayne Jones 85.40
81.42 Dirk van Duijvenbode 3-6 Dyson Parody 83.03
102.10 Daryl Gurney 6-3 David Pallett 92.88

Evening Session (7pm-11pm local time, 6pm-10pm BST)
92.30 Andy Hamilton 4-6 Max Hopp 92.84
86.06 Christian Kist 6-1 Cristo Reyes 82.96
77.08 Gerwyn Price 6-0 David Francis 68.16
85.44 Rowby-John Rodriguez 2-6 Jermaine Wattimena 94.26
96.09 Joe Cullen 6-5 Kevin Painter 92.40
82.20 Mark Walsh 1-6 Stephen Bunting 91,24
69.80 George Federico 1-6 Alan Norris 86.16
90.88 Kyle Anderson 4-6 Steve West 89.17

Saturday May 7th

Afternoon Session (1pm-5pm local time, 12pm-4pm BST)
Last 32
88.54 Robert Thornton 6-5 John Henderson 87.53
105.00 Mervyn King 6-2 Christian Kist 91.53
92.30 Simon Whitlock 6-1 Gerwyn Price 87.43
103.88 Terry Jenkins 4-6 Joe Murnan 103.38
91.14 Mensur Suljovic 6-2 Jermaine Wattimena 88.39
93.28 Jelle Klaasen 5-6 Dyson Parody 93.39
89.65 Ian White 6-5 Antonio Alcinas 84.83

Evening Session (7pm-11pm local time, 6pm-10pm BST)
84.40 Kim Huybrechts 6-4 Michael Rasztovits 83.26
86.01 James Wade 6-2 Justin Pipe 81.93
100.28 Benito van de Pas 6-1 Stephen Bunting 93.97
91.75 Gary Anderson 6-2 Alan Norris 98.84
95.04 Michael van Gerwen 6-4 Nick Fullwell 84.52
98.77 Dave Chisnall 6-5 Steve West 95.90
95.51 Peter Wright 6-3 Daryl Gurney 92.55
98.54 Michael Smith 6-4 Joe Cullen 95.23