Template - Date: Betway Premier League Night 12 Bournemouth

Betway Premier League

Night 12 – April 21 / Bournemouth International Centre
Michael van Gerwen 7-2 Peter Wright
Raymond van Barneveld 7-4 Adrian Lewis
Gary Anderson 6-6 James Wade
Phil Taylor 7-2 Robert Thornton
Adrian Lewis 5-7 Michael van Gerwen

Table following Night 12

22pts Phil Taylor (P-13) +35
20pts Michael van Gerwen (P-13) + 29
15pts Gary Anderson (P-12) +8
15pts Adrian Lewis (P-13) +5
14pts James Wade (P-13) +1
11pts Raymond van Barneveld (P-13) +2
11pts Peter Wright (P-12) -9
6pts Robert Thornton (P-13) -26
Dave Chisnall (Eliminated)
Michael Smith (Eliminated)

(103.38) Michael van Gerwen 7-2 Peter Wright (98.30) 1-0 – van Gerwen lands a 180 to set up 64 before landing double 16 to take the opening leg. 2-0 – Two misses from Wright allow van Gerwen in to break with a 72 checkout. 2-1 – Wright breaks back immediately by finishing 70. 3-1 – van Gerwen secures another break of throw, taking out 86 on double 16. 4-1 – Both players kick off with five perfect darts, landing a 180 and two further treble 20s, before van Gerwen finishes 47 on double 16 for an 11-darter to move three legs clear. 4-2 – Wright lands a 180 and double ten to respond. 5-2 – van Gerwen has enough breathing space to initially miss four darts at doubles before returning on double ten. 6-2 – van Gerwen lands his third 180 before finishing double 16 to ensure a minimum of a draw. 7-2 – The Dutchman secures the win by landing double 16.


(93.09) Raymond van Barneveld 7-4 Adrian Lewis (90.42) 1-0 – van Barneveld lands a 180 and double four to win the opening leg. 1-1 – Lewis fires in three 140s before double eight sees him level. 2-1 – Double 16 edges the Dutchman back ahead. 2-2 – Lewis levels by taking out 40, although he switches to double 15 after landing double five with a dart at tops. 3-2 – Another 32 checkout sees van Barneveld regain the lead. 4-2 – The Dutchman produces a brilliant 12-darter to break throw, scoring 180 and 141 in successive visits during a superb leg. 5-2 – Double eight sees van Barneveld claim a third successive leg to pull clear. 5-3 – Four missed doubles from the 2014 champion allow Lewis back on double ten. 6-3 – van Barneveld finishes 110 to secure a minimum of a draw. 6-4 – Lewis hits back to keep alive his hopes of claiming a point. 7-4 – Double four sees van Barneveld secure his second successive win.


(103.07) Gary Anderson 6-6 James Wade (99.71)1-0 – Anderson finishes 42 on tops to claim the opening leg. 2-0 – The reigning champion breaks throw by finishing 60 on tops. 2-1 – Wade breaks back, finishing 78. 2-2 – Anderson misses double five to finish 130, and Wade takes out 64 on tops to level. 3-2 – Tops sees Anderson edge back ahead. 3-3 – Double ten from Wade levels. 4-3 – Anderson opens with a 180 before finishing double six to regain the edge. 5-3 – The Scot kicks off with another maximum before breaking throw on tops, after Wade misses double 12 for a 141 checkout. 6-3 – Wade this time opens with a 180, but Anderson finishes 81 on double six to secure a minimum of a draw. 6-4 – Anderson lands a 180, but misses two match darts to allow Wade in on double five to keep his hopes alive. 6-5 – Wade finishes 71 on tops to take the game into a decider. 6-6 – Anderson hits his fifth 180 of the game, but misses four further match darts to allow Wade back in to snatch a draw on double five.


(89.61) Phil Taylor 7-2 Robert Thornton (93.61) 1-0 – Taylor finishes 45 to win the opening leg. 2-0 – Thornton misses the bull and two further darts at doubles to win the leg, allowing Taylor in on double ten to break throw. 3-0 – Thornton lands the game’s first 180, but Taylor hits double ten with his third dart as he continues his march. 3-1- Tops sees Thornton hit back with his first leg of the contest. 4-1 – Taylor lands a 180 and tops to regain his three-leg lead. 4-2 – Thornton posts a maximum before finishing 41 to claim his second leg. 5-2 – Double 12 sees Taylor restore his cushion. 6-2 – Thornton misses double eight to take out 92, and Taylor’s double eight sees him secure a minimum of a point. 7-2 – Thornton’s miss at tops allows Taylor in to finish 78 on the same bed to complete a victory which ensures his place in the Play-Offs next month.

Phil Taylor’s win secures his place in the Betway Premier League Play-Offs


(96.82) Michael van Gerwen 7-5 Adrian Lewis (92.98) 0-1 – Lewis misses four darts at a double, and van Gerwen lands tops for an immediate break of throw. 0-2 – Lewis fires in a 171 score to leave 32, only for van Gerwen to produce a killer 124 finish on the bull to double his lead. 1-2 – Five missed doubles from van Gerwen allow Lewis back in on double two to hit back. 1-3 – van Gerwen takes out 65 on double four to regain his cushion. 1-4 – van Gerwen finishes 100 with two double tops to open up a three-leg lead with another break. 2-4 – Double two sees Lewis claim a second leg with a break of throw. 3-4 – van Gerwen lands a 180, but two misses at top allow Lewis in to hit the same bed as he responds. 4-4 – Lewis finishes a brilliant 142 checkout to level the contest in stunning fashion. 4-5 – van Gerwen responds with a 180 before capitalising on Lewis’ missed doubles across two visits to move ahead with a third-dart double five. 4-6 – van Gerwen finishes 65 on tops to ensure he will remain unbeaten in 12 matches. 5-6 – The Dutchman misses four match darts, and Lewis follows a 180 with double 19 to force a deciding leg. 5-7 – van Gerwen is first to a finish before pinning double 16 to secure both points.