Template - Date: PDC Players Championship 4 Barnsley

BENITO VAN DE PAS won his first senior PDC title by edging out Michael van Gerwen 6-5 in the final of Saturday’s Players Championship Four at the Barnsley Metrodome.

The Dutch duo won through to the final for a second successive day on the ProTour weekend, with van Gerwen having taken victory in Friday’s £75,000 tournament only to see the 23-year-old claim revenge in a deciding leg 24 hours later. Van de Pas had also lost out to van Gerwen in last year’s International Darts Open event on the PDC European Tour, but he finally went all the way to claim the £10,000 first prize and pick up his first ProTour triumph.

After the pair traded 13-darters to kick off the game, van Gerwen produced legs of 12, 13 and 14 darts to pull into a 4-1 lead in a high-quality contest. Van de Pas hit back with an 11-darter before van Gerwen took the seventh leg to move to the brink of victory at 5-2, but the youngster hit back with three successive legs to level the contest before a 12-darter in the deciding leg gave him victory. Van de Pas ended the final with a brilliant 110.24 average after landing seven 180s and a 106 checkout, with van Gerwen averaging 111.72 in defeat as he hit four maximums and a 134 finish.


Van de Pas’ route to the final began with a 6-2 win over Nigel Heydon before he then defeated Jason Wilson and Mark Webster. The Dutchman then whitewashed Chris Dobey in the last 16, dropped only one leg in the quarter-finals against Alan Norris and overcame Gerwyn Price 6-2 in the semis.

Van Gerwen saw off Mark Frost, Stephen Willard, Matthew Dennant, Simon Whitlock and Jelle Klaasen during his run before knocking out World Champion Gary Anderson 6-4 in the semi-finals. Price was denied his place in a second ProTour final of the year by van de Pas, but the Welsh ace saw off Nathan Derry, Jermaine Wattimena, Terry Jenkins, Joe Cullen and Max Hopp on the day as he picked up £3,000.

World Champion Anderson was appearing in his second Players Championship semi-final of the year, having defeated Brett Claydon, John Bowles, Shaun Griffiths, Jonny Clayton and Dave Chisnall. World Youth Champion Hopp knocked out high-flying Mensur Suljovic on his way to a first ProTour quarter-final since the equivalent Players Championship 12 months ago, while Chisnall’s run to the last eight was his best finish on the floor so far in 2016.

Norris followed up his run to Friday’s semi-finals by reaching the last eight before losing out to van de Pas, while UK Open semi-finalist Klaasen was denied at the quarter-final stage by compatriot van Gerwen in his third ProTour quarter-final of the year. Emerging star Chris Dobey knocked out James Wade and Steve Beaton as he reached the last 16 for a second successive day, with Jonny Clayton and Simon Whitlock also matching their Friday finish by winning through to the fourth round.

Sunday sees the ProTour weekend conclude with a third Players Championship tournament, as 128 players compete for £75,000 in prize money. NB: From the original entries, Phil Taylor has withdrawn from Saturday’s event, and been replaced by Associate Member Kevin Dowling.

Players Championship Four

Saturday April 9, Barnsley Metrodome

First Round
Michael van Gerwen (1) 6-1 Mark Frost
Stephen Willard 6-3 Alan Tabern
Andrew Gilding 6-3 John Henderson (32)
Matthew Dennant 6-3 Johnny Haines
Simon Whitlock (16) 6-2 Jamie Robinson
Yordi Meeuwisse 6-4 Steve West
Matt Clark 6-5 Mervyn King (17)
Andy Jenkins 6-4 Jan Dekker
Jelle Klaasen (8) 6-1 Andy Parsons
Richie Corner 6-1 Jonathan Worsley
James Wilson 6-4 Jamie Lewis (25)
Ricky Evans 6-5 William O’Connor
Kyle Anderson 6-4 Adrian Lewis (9)
Josh Payne 6-5 Curtis Hammond
Andy Hamilton 6-4 Vincent van der Voort (24)
Ted Evetts 6-1 Matthew Edgar
Dave Chisnall (5) 6-1 Peter Hudson
Magnus Caris 6-4 Paul Nicholson
Keegan Brown (28) 6-4 Nathan Aspinall
Nigel Daniels 6-2 Darron Brown
Robert Thornton (12) 6-1 Simon Stevenson
Jeffrey de Graaf 6-5 Mark Walsh
James Richardson 6-3 Brendan Dolan (21)
Kevin Painter 6-1 Dimitri Van den Bergh
Kim Huybrechts (4) 6-2 Scott Dale
Robbie Green 6-4 Steve Hine
Jonny Clayton 6-2 Jamie Caven (29)
Dean Winstanley 6-3 Ronnie Baxter
Gary Anderson (13) 6-2 Brett Claydon
John Bowles 6-3 Robert Owen
Justin Pipe (20) 6-4 Jyhan Artut
Shaun Griffiths 6-5 Mark Barilli
Ross Smith 6-3 Peter Wright (2)
Dennis Smith 6-3 Steve McNally
Rowby-John Rodriguez (31) 6-1 John Part
Jeffrey de Zwaan 6-3 Terry Temple
Stephen Bunting (15) 6-4 Dirk van Duijvenbode
Cristo Reyes 6-4 Jason Lovett
Alan Norris (18) 6-2 Mike Zuydwijk
Kevin Dowling 6-3 Darren Webster
James Wade (7) 6-3 Brian Woods
Chris Dobey 6-1 Prakash Jiwa
Steve Beaton (26) 6-1 Paul Milford
Tony Newell 6-2 Jim Walker
Benito van de Pas (10) 6-2 Nigel Heydon
Jason Wilson 6-2 Stuart Kellett
Mark Webster (23) 6-3 Vincent Kamphuis
Ray Campbell 6-5 Dick van Dijk
Christian Kist 6-2 Ian White (6)
Andy Smith 6-4 Haruki Muramatsu
Joe Cullen (27) 6-2 Jason Marriott
Mickey Mansell 6-2 Andy Boulton
Terry Jenkins (11) 6-1 Wes Newton
Mick McGowan 6-1 Harry Robinson
Gerwyn Price (22) 6-0 Nathan Derry
Jermaine Wattimena 6-4 Kim Viljanen
Wayne Jones 6-3 Michael Smith (3)
Max Hopp 6-1 Ryan Meikle
Ronny Huybrechts 6-1 Joe Murnan (30)
Simon Preston 6-0 Ryan Palmer
Mensur Suljovic (14) 6-5 David Pallett
Devon Petersen 6-5 Ron Meulenkamp
Daryl Gurney (19) 6-1 Berry van Peer
Mike De Decker 6-3 Darren Johnson

Second Round
Michael van Gerwen 6-3 Stephen Willard
Matthew Dennant 6-3 Andrew Gilding
Simon Whitlock 6-0 Yordi Meeuwisse
Andy Jenkins 6-5 Matt Clark
Jelle Klaasen 6-4 Richie Corner
Ricky Evans 6-5 James Wilson
Kyle Anderson 6-5 Josh Payne
Andy Hamilton 6-4 Ted Evetts
Dave Chisnall 6-1 Magnus Caris
Keegan Brown 6-2 Nigel Daniels
Jeffrey de Graaf 6-4 Robert Thornton
James Richardson 6-5 Kevin Painter
Robbie Green 6-1 Kim Huybrechts
Jonny Clayton 6-5 Dean Winstanley
Gary Anderson 6-0 John Bowles
Shaun Griffiths 6-4 Justin Pipe
Ross Smith 6-1 Dennis Smith
Rowby-John Rodriguez 6-0 Jeffrey de Zwaan
Cristo Reyes 6-5 Stephen Bunting
Alan Norris 6-3 Kevin Dowling
Chris Dobey 6-5 James Wade
Steve Beaton 6-3 Tony Newell
Benito van de Pas 6-3 Jason Wilson
Mark Webster 6-1 Ray Campbell
Andy Smith 6-3 Christian Kist
Joe Cullen 6-5 Mickey Mansell
Terry Jenkins 6-4 Mick McGowan
Gerwyn Price 6-4 Jermaine Wattimena
Max Hopp 6-3 Wayne Jones
Ronny Huybrechts 6-0 Simon Preston
Mensur Suljovic 6-5 Devon Petersen
Mike De Decker 6-4 Daryl Gurney
Losers £500

Third Round
Michael van Gerwen 6-2 Matthew Dennant
Simon Whitlock 6-4 Andy Jenkins
Jelle Klaasen 6-3 Ricky Evans
Kyle Anderson 6-2 Andy Hamilton
Dave Chisnall 6-1 Keegan Brown
James Richardson 6-4 Jeffrey de Graaf
Jonny Clayton 6-4 Robbie Green
Gary Anderson 6-1 Shaun Griffiths
Rowby-John Rodriguez 6-2 Ross Smith
Alan Norris 6-0 Cristo Reyes
Chris Dobey 6-5 Steve Beaton
Benito van de Pas 6-4 Mark Webster
Joe Cullen 6-5 Andy Smith
Gerwyn Price 6-3 Terry Jenkins
Max Hopp 6-5 Ronny Huybrechts
Mensur Suljovic 6-5 Mike De Decker
Losers £1,000

Fourth Round
Michael van Gerwen 6-2 Simon Whitlock
Jelle Klaasen 6-2 Kyle Anderson
Dave Chisnall 6-5 James Richardson
Gary Anderson 6-3 Jonny Clayton
Alan Norris 6-1 Rowby-John Rodriguez
Benito van de Pas 6-0 Chris Dobey
Gerwyn Price 6-2 Joe Cullen
Max Hopp 6-2 Mensur Suljovic
Losers £1,500

Michael van Gerwen 6-2 Jelle Klaasen
Gary Anderson 6-3 Dave Chisnall
Benito van de Pas 6-1 Alan Norris
Gerwyn Price 6-2 Max Hopp
Losers £2,250

Michael van Gerwen 6-4 Gary Anderson
Benito van de Pas 6-2 Gerwyn Price
Losers £3,000

Michael van Gerwen 5-6 Benito van de Pas
Winner £10,000
Runner-Up £6,000